Search Unity

Visual Studio on Mac is the worst

Discussion in 'External Tools' started by CoCoNutti, May 19, 2018.

  1. CoCoNutti

    CoCoNutti

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Posts:
    491
    Hi,
    Is there any way with Unity 2018 that I can still use MonoDevelop (or can someone advise of another solution) instead of Visual Studio? It runs terribly on mac - lagging/constantly slow, fatal crashes at least once a day, the VS update corrupts VS and I have to reinstall again from Unity package (have tried this multiple times) Hey, it's Microsoft - so not surprising it's shocking.

    It's holding up my work performance, so any advise would be great.
    Thank you
     
  2. haymaker

    haymaker

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I use VSCode. It works way better for me. Much faster. They even have a guide on how to use it with unity: https://code.visualstudio.com/docs/other/unity
     
  3. orb

    orb

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    2,960
    VSCode all the way for me. My main three languages are well-supported, and many more.
     
  4. CoCoNutti

    CoCoNutti

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Posts:
    491
    I'd be happy if it didn't crash every day and I didn't have to reload it every 1/2 hour.
    I can't even updated it - it's useless on Mac.
     
  5. leveelunitydev

    leveelunitydev

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Posts:
    11
    I have to agree. I love VS and I have been using it for years, but VS on mac + Unity.... just terrible. Unusable. They keep killing each other, debugging is pretty much a no go, and now there is no alternative (maybe VS code works, but can I put a breakpoint in vscode?)
     
  6. orb

    orb

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    2,960
  7. Tiny-Tree

    Tiny-Tree

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1,275

    try rider if you want the perfect solution on mac
     
    xVergilx and CoCoNutti like this.
  8. SkyFire101

    SkyFire101

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    What about script inspector?
     
    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  9. CoCoNutti

    CoCoNutti

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Posts:
    491
    Thanks will take a look at this. I'm pulling my hair out here.
     
  10. SunnyChow

    SunnyChow

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Posts:
    337
    i link the new Unity to old Unity's MonoDevelop
     
  11. monark

    monark

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,496
    How do you stop VS freezing constantly on a Mac, like every time you click on it, or try and change one single word?
    I used Visual Studio Code for a while but now that now refuses to save anything or even close without forcing it.
    Microsoft tools on a Mac suck hard.
     
  12. francois85

    francois85

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Posts:
    644
    Was not a fan when I first switch to VS but now I’m a big fan. I know I had issues first getting it to work but it absolutely worth the effort.
     
  13. leveelunitydev

    leveelunitydev

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Posts:
    11
    Yeah, same problem here... It always takes few seconds to respond, and that is freaking annoying... And it is not that I have like an old macbook or something, it is 2018 model!
     
  14. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    14,414
    You know what's ironic about this whole thread? Visual Studio for Mac is Mono Develop. When Microsoft acquired Xamarin they renamed Xamarin Studio to Visual Studio for Mac and Xamarin Studio itself was just the commercial release of Mono Develop.

    Reference link below.

    https://adtmag.com/articles/2017/05/10/vs-for-mac.aspx
     
  15. andersemil

    andersemil

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Posts:
    53
    VS for mac is better today than it was just a year ago, a lot has improved. The only big annoyance i have now is the huge delays/ui lockups whenever unity re-exports the solution and project files ... i wish unity and/or VS would be better at detecting changes and not reloading everything every time.
     
    arfish and CoCoNutti like this.
  16. leveelunitydev

    leveelunitydev

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Posts:
    11
    Whenever I add new script I have to close the solution and open it again because all goes haywire and "int" is not defined....
    Depending on the project it can even happen if I double-click the log entry in the console: the solution breaks down in vs and I need to reopen it... quite useful tool....
     
  17. bartofzo

    bartofzo

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Posts:
    62
    It's a nightmare. I have a fairly big project with 100+ source files and when renaming a file I have to restart Visual Studio or all hell breaks loose. That process alone can sometimes take a few minutes (!). Total workflow killer. Not to mention the numerous bugs I encounter every day. If it would just work as smoothly as VS Code it would be my favourite editor by far, I really like the clean design.
     
  18. francois85

    francois85

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Posts:
    644
    Yea it has it ups and downs on mac, I generally have more luck with it if I keep it updated
     
  19. CoCoNutti

    CoCoNutti

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Posts:
    491
    One year on, are you still using VSCode?

    Still having issues with VS after switching back to it. Either that or my laptop can no longer handle Unity 2019 + Visual Studio (only 8 gigs of ram - I would upgrade but Apple damn well WELDED THE MEMORY to the board, didn't they) ><>< >< ><
     
  20. bartofzo

    bartofzo

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Posts:
    62
    Funny you mention that. I generally have the feeling that with each update it gets more buggy.