Search Unity

Visual Studio Code

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by IQpierce, Apr 29, 2015.

1. IQpierce

IQpierce

https://code.visualstudio.com/

A news story: http://9to5mac.com/2015/04/29/microsoft-visual-studio-code-mac/

Microsoft describes the program as a “code optimized editor” with support for Intellisense, debugging, and GIT. The developer tool also features integration with GitHub.
    This is exciting news for me: Mac is my preferred platform for most purposes, and it's easier to create iOS apps from a Mac OS X environment.

I've worked in Unity exclusively on Mac. However in my past life as a games industry programmer, I worked on Windows machines in Visual Studio. It was always a very powerful and reliable IDE with the most fully-featured debugger I knew, and a large selection of productivity tools.

I like Unity's MonoDevelop more than most folks - I like that it has powerful refactoring tools and very good autocomplete, and deep customization for automatically following a coding style... and of course the debugger is a powerful tool, and on Mac the only way to attach to it is through MonoDevelop.

However, in almost every other respect, Unity-MonoDevelop on Mac is... well, it F***ing sucks. It's Bush League. It can be very fast and smooth at times, but it will often become sluggish and slow to respond, or will freeze completely. I've been using it since 2011 and only yesterday did I realize that when you open the "attach to debugger" dialog, you have to choose an option on the dialog *within three seconds*, and if you don't, MonoDevelop will freeze and never recover. Unbelievable. I've talked to many developers who dual-boot, or work with Windows emulators, just so they can use Visual Studio with Unity from the Mac... but those options have never seemed practical to me.