Search Unity

Visual Studio 2019

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by konsic, Dec 4, 2018.

  1. tsibiski

    tsibiski

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Posts:
    599
    Tuples, man. TUPLES!
     
    elmar1028 likes this.
  2. elmar1028

    elmar1028

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Posts:
    2,359
    You gotta be resourceful. Make your own tuples :p
     
    tsibiski likes this.
  3. tsibiski

    tsibiski

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Posts:
    599
    You mean like:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2.  
    3. List<KeyValuePair<string,List<KeyValuePair<string,List<Keyv....
    4.  
    5.  
    ?
    (Me being "resourceful". Sad thing is I did something not-this-dramatic once when I was new. It was tragic.) :p
     
  4. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    There is a problem about that in the beta and alpha versions of Unity. The autocomplete you describe doesn't work for me, at all; unfortunately it works for some others and @miniwolf_unity is pulling his hair trying to reproduce my problem...
     
  5. craigarthurarden

    craigarthurarden

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I was having an issue with opening scripts with Visual Studio 2019 from Unity. I just came across the solution so please give this a try. In Unity go to Edit > Preferences In the External Tools tab make sure Visual Studio 2019 is selected for External Script Editor. It was "open file by extension" by default for me, this opened VS 2019 but didn't load the correctly (No solution explorer, no syntax highlighting and no autocomplete for unity components). It seems this has control as to how VS actually loads the script file.
     
    RandomHumanMind likes this.
  6. Glader

    Glader

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Posts:
    456
    Dear lord what the hell is that.
     
    tsibiski likes this.
  7. tsibiski

    tsibiski

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Posts:
    599
    EXACTLY lol
     
  8. Vik12j

    Vik12j

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    That helped, thanks!
     
  9. Rodolfo-Rubens

    Rodolfo-Rubens

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    1,197
    Here, the solution is not auto-reloading when using unity alpha 2019 + VS 2019 (when creating new script files, moving script files around, etc). Also, mono behaviour calls (like Update and Awake) auto-completes is not working here as well.

    I think they will still update the VS plugin..
     
  10. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Rodolfo-Rubens likes this.
  11. Rodolfo-Rubens

    Rodolfo-Rubens

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    1,197
  12. TheCuriousHobbyist

    TheCuriousHobbyist

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Visual Studio has an update function, but for some reason if you install it, it overrides the old one and throws it out, so you're stuck with the new visual studio. So then, if you try to compile the game, you get errors, and your project is not playable. What do you do now??? And HOW in the world do visual studio updates work?!?!? Also, I have this problem where I only sometimes see the Create Thread option on the main forum site. I didn't see it this time, so the only reason I'm able to say this is this is a reply. What is with this?? All of it!
     
  13. elmar1028

    elmar1028

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Posts:
    2,359
    That's how updates tend to work in software, no? I have visual studio 2017 and 2019 installed alongside with one another with no problems.

    Visual Studio is an IDE, it can't mess up your Unity project.

    Unity compiles C# code in advance whenever you make changes to the scripts and would let you know what errors you're getting. You wouldn't be able to compile the game with errors beforehand.

    What errors are you getting?
     
    TaleOf4Gamers, Ryiah and Deleted User like this.
  14. Levr01

    Levr01

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Posts:
    26
    This visual studio 2019 kill my unity project !!!! Unity does not understand own classes like a gameObject, tranform, Instantiate, and more :( After im open my sln in new VS my project just die and dont wanna work until I explain what means - gameObject, tranform, Instantiate. Ill try delete references and link it agin but nothing help me :( Thanks guys, faster way for kill half year of delevlop )
     
  15. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    What version of Unity are you using? One that contains "a" or "b" in their names?
     
  16. kwcae

    kwcae

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Posts:
    34
    Will VS 2019 work if i need to maintain applications built in 2017.x, and 2018.x?
     
  17. elmar1028

    elmar1028

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Posts:
    2,359
    I've been using VS2019 with Unity 2017.4 and 2018.3 and intellisence is working with no problems.

    But I keep getting "project modified outside environment" notification almost everytime. And you have to reload the whole solution whenever you create files. Pretty annoying.
     
  18. Rodolfo-Rubens

    Rodolfo-Rubens

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    1,197
    Ah, I was getting these everytime too, did you update your VS Editor plugin?
    Check this link:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/visual-studio-2017-no-longer-opens-in-a13.668059/page-3#post-4659089
     
  19. elmar1028

    elmar1028

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Posts:
    2,359
  20. Rodolfo-Rubens

    Rodolfo-Rubens

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    1,197
    Now you get me, I don't know... I did a quick search and it seems like it is not available in the asset store...
     
  21. HammerGlassStudio

    HammerGlassStudio

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    21
    Hey Guys.

    Could someone help me ? I just installed vs 2019 with Unity 2019.2.4f1 and when I try to open the solution, VS tells me that my solution needs migration in order to work.

    The cs file opens correctly, but no intellisense, and no class detection.

    How can I migrate my project?
     
  22. iamthwee

    iamthwee

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Posts:
    2,149
    I use sublime text 2 with snippets.
     
  23. ARandomDev

    ARandomDev

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I made the mistake of downloading VS with Unity and I can't uninstall it. Please help me!
     
    iamthwee likes this.
  24. iamthwee

    iamthwee

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Posts:
    2,149
  25. gambr

    gambr

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Posts:
    109
    Hi, is Unity 2018.4.x working with VS 2019?
     
  26. elmar1028

    elmar1028

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Posts:
    2,359
    It's working for me.
     
  27. Player7

    Player7

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1,533
    ON the topic of Visual Studio does anyone else find VS just locking up and chewing up CPU doing nothing useful, when say you import a package into Unity, or do something like delete some folders.... usually you might get a prompt in VS to reload, but sometimes it just hangs?
     
    Ramobo likes this.
  28. joostbos

    joostbos

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Posts:
    64
    Should not have trusted Microsoft....'Visual Studio 2019 is available, Upgrading will not affect your Unity project'

    So I installed VS2019, removed VS2017. Opened a Unity project, double clicked on a script and... Windows asks me how to open it :mad:

    Can someone tell me what Microsoft did not?

    [Edit] Oh I did find this post:
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/VisualStudioIntegration.html
    'Make sure Visual Studio is selected' That's gonna be pretty hard if it is not listed....
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2020
  29. elmar1028

    elmar1028

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Posts:
    2,359
    You can just look for 'devenv.exe' and select that.

    If you installed it in the default location, it will be in:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2019\Community\Common7\IDE\
     
  30. Rasly233

    Rasly233

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Posts:
    264
    it still looks like pile of junk, so much polution in toolbar, im not giving my 2017 beauty for this. Seriously what with those puke colors?!
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2020
  31. elmar1028

    elmar1028

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Posts:
    2,359
    My only complaint against 2019 is the lack of a vertical toolbar plugin. Productivity Power Tools in 2019 doesn't include it.

    Yes, the new version of 2019 has it built-in, but it's very limited.