Search Unity

Visual Studio 2013 Tools for Unity 5?

Discussion in 'Code Editors & IDEs' started by sarachan, Apr 12, 2015.

  1. sarachan

    sarachan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    43
    Visual Studio 2013 Tools for Unity works very well for Unity 4. I made this video to explain the steps for setting it up.


    Unfortunately, these instructions do not seem to work for Unity5. Visual Studio 2013 Tools does not appear on the Import Package list even after following the instructions.

    I would like the video to be accurate and up-to-date for the benefit of the Unity community, but have not been able to get this to work in Unity 5. Could someone who has VS Tools working in Unity 5 please let me know how you did it, and I will update the video?

    Thanks!
     
    rakkarage likes this.
  2. kburkhart84

    kburkhart84

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Posts:
    910
    It seems to work pretty much perfect in Unity 5, except exactly that problem you have. You have to manually import the package now, but you can find it in the program files folder where the installation is.

    Note that on the website for VS Tools it explains a couple of these things too.
     
    rakkarage likes this.
  3. Dustin-Horne

    Dustin-Horne

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    4,568
    It also adds a start menu entry so if your project open you can just browse to the Visual Studio Tools for Unity in the start menu and it'll import the package into your open project.
     
  4. TwiiK

    TwiiK

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Posts:
    1,729
    Didn't see this thread. :p

    I just wrote a small guide on how to use Visual Studio with Unity here and it's like kburkhart84 says, you have to manually import it now. I wasn't aware that it was different before.