Search Unity

Resolved Visual Scripting with a UI Button - help or advice request -

Discussion in 'Visual Scripting' started by puddingstone, Sep 2, 2021.

1. puddingstone

puddingstone

Visual Scripting with a UI Button - help or advice request -
    Hi I've just started learning Unity and have been pleased to find that there is a "Introduction to Visual Scripting" tutorial - that's great as I'm not a coder (yet...) but I'm having problems finding online advice and more visual scripting tutorials -as I think its so new to v2021.1. (I know it was previously called bolt but that stuff seems to have slightly different implementation) so am focussing on the current release.

I'm Interested in controlling UI buttons via visual scripting.
    I have a primitive that can spin - I just want to start and stop it spinning with the UI button,
    I'm guessing that I need to look at a "Button.onClick" event unit, but i cant work out what to do to link up the UI Button. any tips, or examples that anyone can share please>?
    visual-scripting-a-button.jpg
    P.S. if there is a more appropriate location to post this please let me know
    thanks

2. Renicon13377

Renicon13377

upload_2021-9-4_1-19-58.png

This should work. When you create your button UI, drag and drop it into the "On Button Click" node. Make sure the object you want to rotate is in the "Transform Rotate" node as well.

3. puddingstone

puddingstone

Thanks for the input Renicon13377 - no luck after looking at your illustration.

Regarding your comment If you don't mind clarifying, I only seem able to drag a button that has been made into a prefab onto the "on button click" event node - (as i'm so unfamiliar) - is that expected>?

I'm wondering if i need to implement any special config in order to get the button to see or talk to the Visual script.

I've seen the info here : is this optional or a requirement for interacting with a UI button via VS (cant tell if this is relevant of not)

Next query - see below: