Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Video Video player crashing with Got null handle from IDXGIResource::GetSharedHandle

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by JennyHide, Apr 14, 2020.

  1. JennyHide

    JennyHide

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Posts:
    46
  2. DominiqueLrx

    DominiqueLrx

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Posts:
    229
    Hi Jenny!

    This is something we'd like to look into. It could be that it's specific to the setup that was used to play the content (graphics hardware/driver), or the content itself being "on the limit" of what Windows supports (hence this working for you but not for the person playing the content).

    Can you open a bug so we can see all the details (details of the system where the problem happens, content causing the issue, project settings, etc)?

    A few notes:
    • mp4 is indeed one of the file formats that the VideoPlayer supports, but the file may still have content that is not supported everywhere (e.g.: resolution too large for certain setups, bit depth above 8 bits, etc). These should cause failures at an earlier point but maybe the problematic scenario involves a type of system we haven't seen yet.
    • In the mean time, you can use the webm file format, which uses a different decoder code path. You can either convert your movie file to this format externally (using the vp8 video codec), or let Unity's VideoClip importer do it for you by enabling "Transcode" and setting "Codec" to "VP8".
    Thanks for bringing this to our attention, and hope we can solve this quickly!

    Dominique Leroux
    A/V developer at Unity
     
  3. JennyHide

    JennyHide

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    Thanks - I've submitted a bug report (Case 1237818). I'll try setting the Codec to VP8 (Transcode is already enabled).

    Jenny
     
  4. DominiqueLrx

    DominiqueLrx

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Posts:
    229
    Hi!

    Thanks for submitting the bug; I see it in the triage queue. We'll pick this up for investigation as soon as possible.

    The fact that Transcode was already enabled is a very good data point. Normally, this encoding will "simplify" the movie enough to maximize compatibility. Maybe in this instance it's not doing its job properly so you may consider disabling transcoding entirely and just letting Unity use the unaltered video. Hopefully you still have access to the system where the problem happened.

    Have a nice week-end,

    Dominique
     
  5. JennyHide

    JennyHide

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    I'll give that a go - thanks.

    You too!
    Jenny
     
  6. geotechnicfa

    geotechnicfa

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    It was great that it was reviewed and I found out.
     
  7. BonitaPersona

    BonitaPersona

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    Are there any news on this bug? I can't find the id 1237818 in the issue tracker.

    We released the demo of our game last week, and the people who can't see the videos are giving us bad reviews. They are relevant to the plot, so skipping them is just a las resort workaround. We're releasing the game next week and we'd like to at least know the state the issue is currently at, so we can plan our communication.

    Is there a stable workaround changing the transcode settings? We don't want for a workaround to consequently break the videos for other players.

    Edit: I can confirm that at least two of the cases reported are using AMD hardware. One of the specified AMD Radeon R8 M445DX (GPU) with AMD A10-9600P 3.30 GHz (CPU)
     
  8. DominiqueLrx

    DominiqueLrx

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Posts:
    229
    Hi,

    A bit late... but the bug is still being worked on for reproduction (finding the right system for working on it is slowed down at the moment...). This is why it's not yet publicly visible.

    And thanks for the info regarding GPUs, I'll add this to the bug entry to help with analysis.

    Dominique
     
    BonitaPersona and apalasthy like this.
  9. electryte

    electryte

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Can confirm one of our players having this issue is using:
    Renderer: AMD Radeon(TM) 530 (ID=0x6900)
    Vendor:
    VRAM: 2039 MB
    Driver: 23.20.806.5632
     
  10. lassade

    lassade

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Posts:
    81
    Same bug with other AMD Radeon graphics card here's the reference:

    Code (csharp):
    1. Initialize engine version: 2019.3.15f1 (59ff3e03856d)
    2. ...
    3. GfxDevice: creating device client; threaded=1
    4. Direct3D:
    5.     Version:  Direct3D 11.0 [level 11.1]
    6.     Renderer: AMD Radeon R5 Graphics (ID=0x9874)
    7.     Vendor:
    8.     VRAM:     487 MB
    9.     Driver:   22.19.180.513
    10. ...
    Using MP4 H265 file format without transcoding;
     
  11. lassade

    lassade

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Posts:
    81
    Does anyone figured a workaround?
     
    BonitaPersona likes this.
  12. mekartikshah

    mekartikshah

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    63
    any workarounds? can anyone try changing the video format or anything?
     
  13. hendryshaikh2004

    hendryshaikh2004

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    Hey Guys It Worked For Me!! These are the video setting and please make sure to give me A LIKE!! Check The Image
     

    Attached Files:

  14. paolo2000ad

    paolo2000ad

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    A me succede stessa identica cosa in u gioco chiamato Rust e mi compare la scritta GetSharedHandle a l'interno .Confermo il fatto delle AMD infatti io posseggo una scheda grafica AMD Radeon R5 230
     
  15. marianeluyara

    marianeluyara

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks, It worked for me too!
     
  16. wechat_os_Qy001EV5Uy_JFXR3x7Xyx5aco

    wechat_os_Qy001EV5Uy_JFXR3x7Xyx5aco

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    not display video from videoplayer,but have sound,
    i use videoplayer url to play local .mp4 video

    platform windows10 ,AMD GPU
    log error Got null handle from IDXGIResource::GetSharedHandle.
    unity 2019.4.16f1c1
    help
     
  17. wechat_os_Qy001EV5Uy_JFXR3x7Xyx5aco

    wechat_os_Qy001EV5Uy_JFXR3x7Xyx5aco

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Posts:
    4

    Change PlayerSetting -> OtherSettings->AutoGraphics API for Windows (false) and add Vulkan to first
    is work in AMD GPU
     
unityunity