Search Unity

Video playback error

Discussion in 'Unity Ads' started by triatomic, Oct 26, 2014.

  1. triatomic

    triatomic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    I'm trying out Unity Ads in a bowling game on a Nexus 7 tablet.

    However, sometimes I receive a "Video Playback Error".

    20141025_205617.jpg

    Anyone know what causes this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. HeikkiTunkelo

    HeikkiTunkelo

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Posts:
    104
    That definitely shouldn't happen very often. How often do you see that error? Is it easily reproducible?

    What kind of network connection do you have?


    Heikki
     
  3. triatomic

    triatomic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    The error does not occur super often. I see it maybe 1 in 12 ads right now. All I do to reproduce it is play my game on the Nexus 7 tablet and go thru the ads.

    Also, I saw it again today, and I took a picture:

    video-playback-error.jpg

    Thanks.
     
  4. unity-nikkolai

    unity-nikkolai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Posts:
    541
    What's your wireless network quality like? Have you tried running a speed test from your device? If there's a weak wireless signal, this error could be occurring with packet loss. Any additional info you can provide would be helpful.
     
  5. triatomic

    triatomic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    I ran a speed test, and here are the results:

    speedtestresults.jpg

    Also, I have seen this error occur on three different networks and two different devices.
     
    rezki likes this.
  6. rezki

    rezki

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Posts:
    53
    same error occurs to me every time on my Samsung galaxy s duos 2 and another tablet
     
  7. boolfone

    boolfone

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Posts:
    289
    rezki likes this.
  8. rezki

    rezki

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Posts:
    53
    My game worked on itself i didn't do anything. now I get it when i use Youtube on my computer maybe ads needs powerful internet connection.

    PS : i have a stupid 1mb Adsl
     
    unity-nikkolai likes this.
  9. triatomic

    triatomic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    I would think one way to fix this is to download the entire ad before the ready function returns true. Then the playback would not use the connection at all.
     
  10. unity-nikkolai

    unity-nikkolai

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Posts:
    541
    There is an attempt to cache video ads, but it's not always possible with less than optimal network connections.

    Quoted from an earlier thread:
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2015
    dpakmenon, rezki and Salazar like this.
  11. Skyboard_Studios

    Skyboard_Studios

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Posts:
    51
    i have this issue as well..

    I have a AndroidTV ATV1800e wired to a router... so I would think my internet speed is not the issue...

    and so far it happens on every attempt to activate the Unity Ads.

    Update: I just tried my game on a Samsung Galaxy 3 Tablet 7" and the video playback was perfect..



    And my speed test...

     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2015
  12. GodOfMagic

    GodOfMagic

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    I get this error in my game on LG-E610 like 9 out of 10 times. Not sure about other models. And also it says that I skipped ad, not failed to show it. Internet should not be the problem becouse I initialize ad the moment player enters scene and let it watch just after a few minutes fight.
     
  13. The GUS

    The GUS

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    I get the same error. The video don't play but I get a pocture and a game description touchable. I'd ask: Will I get the revenue even so?
     
  14. yeahwin

    yeahwin

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Today, I have encountered this problem......:( Video_playback_error.jpg
     
  15. yeahwin

    yeahwin

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    This problem can not be resolved?
     
  16. FritzH

    FritzH

    Developer Relations Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Posts:
    45
    If this is a common issue, I encourage you guys to email Ads support and include a link to the game, or a shared copy of the APK so we can take a closer look.

    unityads-support@unity3d.com

    Please keep in mind that using ad mediation or an outdated version of Unity Ads can sometimes cause additional issues. If you continue to experience playback issues, make sure to test your game using the most recent version of Unity, Assets Package or Native SDK.

    Thanks!
    Fritz
     
  17. tamorage

    tamorage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    same here too
     
  18. pedrevans

    pedrevans

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    This error was seen yesterday (2016-02-09) with a test ad on a Samsung A3.
     

    Attached Files: