Search Unity

Video capture (3D not 360) for stereoscopic goggles

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by Kaylhan, Jul 9, 2018.

1. Kaylhan

Kaylhan

Hi,

I'm designing an fMRI experiment and I created a virtual environment with Unity3d 2017.3 that I would like to screen to the participants in the scanner using stereoscopic goggles. I'm quite new to C# and Unity, so I figured out that the simplest way for me was to capture videos of this environment, so I can play them later to the participants, (without delays, in a timed manner, using Matlab).
    Given that I use "old-school" stereoscopic goggles (basically two low resolution screens, one for each eye), I need to capture stereo videos, not in 360, but just in "flat" mode, like at a movie theater (for example left-right 2048*768 or top-bottom 1024*1536), that would keep the 3D depth. For now I just have one main camera for the scene.

I've seen a lot of assets (also the new Unity 2018.1 feature) capturing 360 stereo videos but so far I didn't find any dealing with also non-360 stereo videos. I tried VR Capture from RockVR (free version), with the following parameters:
    - Format: Normal
    - Stereo format: Left-right
    - Stereo format type: Full
    - inter-pupillary distance: 0.0635
    - no dedicated camera

But what it seems to me to do is capturing one video from the main camera and then duplicate it a second time for the second eye, so it's not "real" stereo and doesn't give me 3D videos at the end. But maybe I'm using it wrong?
    Is there somebody that have experience with this or know an asset that does this particular job?
    Do I have to set two different cameras (one for each eye) instead of just one main camera, and then try to capture from the two of them?

Sorry if my post is not precise enough, it's my first post, and of course I would be happy to complete any missing piece of info.

Thanks in advance for the help!
    Antonin

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout