Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

[VFX Graph] Particle Strips?

Discussion in 'Graphics Experimental Previews' started by eric_delappe, Nov 25, 2019.

  1. eric_delappe

    eric_delappe

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    I'm using VFX Graph in HDRP 7.1.5 and I can't find the "Initialize Particle Strip" or "Update Particle Strip" contexts. They do not appear in the spacebar search menu. The only available contexts for particle strips are the output contexts.

    Keijiro's Vfxgraphtestbed repository has several examples of graphs that make use of particle strips, and the initialize and update contexts are there. But there seems to be no way to add them myself. How can I use this feature in my own graphs?
     
  2. elbows

    elbows

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    2,502
    Probably this:

    In main Unity preferences there is a Visual Effects section, you need to go to that and enable the Experimental Operators/Blocks option.
     
    nicolasgramlich likes this.
  3. eric_delappe

    eric_delappe

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    It wasn't the experimental operators thing, that checkbox was already ticked.

    But I did figure it out. The "Data Type" of the Initialize and Update contexts just needs to be changed to "Particle Strip" in the inspector.
     
    laurentlavigne and barbelot like this.
  4. nicolasgramlich

    nicolasgramlich

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Posts:
    231
    You actually still have to do both in 2019.3.0f6 :)
     
    barbelot likes this.
  5. Piepop101

    Piepop101

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    How do I do this with the most recent VFX Graph and Unity 2.9f1? By this I mean create a particle strip. I need to use this specific version of unity. I can check experimental operators, but no options show up anywhere in inspector. I select the GPU event I created and no options show up in inspector. @Eric5h5 @hippocoder
     
  6. Olmi

    Olmi

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    1,553
    @mrbenjamincastro can you clarify which version you mean with Unity 2.9f1. 2019.2.x or what. There's no "2.9f1".

    Particle Data Type shows up in the inspector when you select an Initialize Context. (i.e. that box titled Initialize.)
     
  7. Piepop101

    Piepop101

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    i mean 2019.2.9, Oh ok. But how do I get to the initialize box? What do I do to get there? I have very limited knowledge so details would be nice thank you! @Olmi
     
  8. Olmi

    Olmi

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    1,553
  9. Rafaelski

    Rafaelski

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Posts:
    12
    TAHNK YOU! Helped a lot