Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

VFX Editor

Discussion in '2018.3 Beta' started by TechnicalArtist, Sep 20, 2018.

1. TechnicalArtist

TechnicalArtist

Hi,

Any news about visual vfx editor?

2. IllTemperedTunas

IllTemperedTunas

Seen a few posts asking about this, it's not in 2018.3, but there is a git repository that has the current setup if you want to try something out that isn't ready for prime time (I wouldn't recommend it).

All things considered i'd guess you could expect this to be released in a worthy state some time next year about this time, give or take. It's a ways off.

All this said as a fellow effects artist i'm really excited for what the new prefab systems will allow me to do with my particle setups and workflow.

LeonhardP likes this.
  3. TechnicalArtist

TechnicalArtist

Thanks for infromation.

4. rz_0lento

rz_0lento

Currently theres an VFX editor branch for SRP on github side and it's likely it'll be bundled with SRP there in the future too as it's HDRP specific thing. It will eventually find it's way to package manager but that will take a while as it's not even in PRs for SRP master yet. See this thread:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/general-hdrp-vfx-thread.554326/#post-3692257

or if you want to try other things along with it, I have experimental branch that also includes VFX editor here:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/experimental-srp-for-testing-new-features.554455/

5. DanMeyer009

DanMeyer009

This may be a silly question but is this meant for games or more so for film? The demos they have previewed look gorgeous but also like they would melt modern consoles. I realize that you could make it more performant by reducing beauty settings/number of particles when creating a graph. Mainly just posting to see if this was going to be aimed at and be a viable solution for real time games/vr.

6. IllTemperedTunas