Search Unity

1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Very small scale mmo?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jcfrizz, Sep 16, 2018.

1. jcfrizz

jcfrizz

Hi everyone, looking for some advice. I am interested in creating a multiplayer game, but I am a solo developer and know how incredibly difficult and basically impossible anything slightly large scale would be.

I am just wondering how difficult it would be for me to create a very small scale mmo... say, a game with multiple rooms, where each room only has a max amount of about 10 players, and each player can travel to other rooms as they please. I am very interested in learning how mmo’s are built because they are my greatest fascination when it comes to game development, but I wanted to work on creating something simple that even just I could manage. I am also thinking of a simple 2D game with pixel graphics. I have had experience in Unity for some time now and as well as in programming.

How difficult would this be, and how would I start going about this? I’m looking for any tips or advice. Thanks!

Ony likes this.
  2. Ryiah

Ryiah

What you're describing would be very easy to implement with Photon. It's built around the idea that your game is divided up into "rooms" or instances with the players spread across them.

https://www.photonengine.com/en-US/PUN
    https://doc.photonengine.com/en-us/pun/current/getting-started/pun-intro