Search Unity

VERY SIMPLE point-and-click game ideas for VR?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by JoeStrout, May 9, 2018.

1. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

I'm planning to teach my younger one some VR development this summer, but I'm still quite new to it myself.

We've already got a project we're working on together (a roguelike dungeon crawler), but that's complex, and so I have to do most of the heavy lifting. I'd like to queue up some much simpler project ideas that he can learn to do himself.

We're using an Oculus Go, and so it has 3DOF head tracking, and a 3DOF controller with a trigger. In playing with it for a few days, this appears to be basically the VR equivalent of a mouse: you can use it to point at things and then click.

So. What sort of ultra-super-simple VR games can we make with just simple shapes, pointing, and clicking?

2. Doug_B

Doug_B

Could you do a "Whack a Mole" type game?

If a red square appears then look at it and click before it disappears - but if it's a blue square then you must not click on it or you lose points.

JoeStrout likes this.
  3. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

That's a good one.

I could also imagine a sort of swatting mechanic where things fly at you — not directly at you, but at some random point in a circle around you. And you have to hit them with the controller, which means pointing it at the right angle just when they reach the right distance.

Or more generally, I suppose, any sort of shooting-gallery type game would work.

Doug_B likes this.
  4. Martin_H

Martin_H