Search Unity

Question very new to this c#

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ezpzbakedmacaroni, Nov 27, 2020.

  1. ezpzbakedmacaroni

    ezpzbakedmacaroni

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2020
    Posts:
    5

    I am trying to do this


    but the options on the component are not the same.
    here is my code

    using System.Collections;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using UnityEngine;

    public class EnemySpawner : MonoBehaviour
    {
    public GameObject enemy;
    float randX;
    Vector2 whereToSpawn;
    public float spawnRate = 2f;
    float nextSpawn = 0.0f;

    void Start()
    {

    }

    // Update is called once per frame
    void Update()
    {
    if (Time.time > nextSpawn)
    {
    nextSpawn = Time.time + spawnRate;
    randX = Random.Range (-8.4f, 8.4f);
    whereToSpawn = new Vector2 (randX, transform.position.y);
    Instantiate(enemy, whereToSpawn, Quanternion.identify);
    }
    }
    }
     
  2. ezpzbakedmacaroni

    ezpzbakedmacaroni

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2020
    Posts:
    5
  3. roykoma

    roykoma

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Posts:
    176
    Welcome to the forum!
    Please use Code Tags for code, so it's easier to read - and more likely you will get a reply! (Not everyone is willing to format it for you, like I am.)

    This is what your code would look like with them:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4.  
    5. public class EnemySpawner : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.     public GameObject enemy;
    8.     float randX;
    9.     Vector2 whereToSpawn;
    10.     public float spawnRate = 2f;
    11.     float nextSpawn = 0.0f;
    12.  
    13.     void Start()
    14.     {
    15.  
    16.     }
    17.  
    18.     // Update is called once per frame
    19.     void Update()
    20.     {
    21.         if (Time.time > nextSpawn)
    22.         {
    23.             nextSpawn = Time.time + spawnRate;
    24.             randX = Random.Range (-8.4f, 8.4f);
    25.             whereToSpawn = new Vector2 (randX, transform.position.y);
    26.             Instantiate(enemy, whereToSpawn, Quanternion.identify);
    27.         }
    28.     }
    29. }
    Now that it's easier to read, let's see where the problem is:
    You made a spelling error in line 26. Quanternion.identify should be Quanternion.identity

    If that's not it please check the following:
    Do you still have have any errors showing in the Console Window? If so, what do they say?
    Please create a screenshot showing all of them, or copy paste them here.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2020
  4. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,736