Search Unity

Vertics for Main Character in Unity

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by sansuno68, Jun 2, 2020.

1. sansuno68

sansuno68

I've been working on my character for around 2 months and I wanted to import it to unity, but a friend told me there are to many vertics my character currently has 500'000 vertics and its going to be a game for computers is this to much and what would be a good amount of vertics for a main character in a more or less open world game?

2. Olmi

Olmi

There will be probably many opinions what is a good amount - Depends a lot on the game and the platform you're going to run your game on. If it's pc, then it's a more flexible scale, but still I'd use common sense. And as you said it's an open world game, you probably are looking for camera angles similar to GTA or whatever else 3rd person game, or a first person view. If it's your hero character, you probably want have more budget for it, and if it's some enemy, most likely less, especially if the model is going to appear as many copies in your scenes... If it's a game where you never see more than 3-4 characters on screen, you could have a lot higher poly count for enemies too, but if you're going to have crowded scenes with tens of characters, then you need to think a lot more about the performance. Then those first person "severed limbs" are another issue, you would probably use separate models than a whole character.