Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

VertExmotion [Released]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by kalagaan, Oct 30, 2014.

  1. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    Congratulation you found a bug! :p
    It looks like when you use the 'Fix material' function is reverted when you come back to the 'info' tab. :confused:
    To fix it you have to :
    - Click on the 'fix material' button
    - Select another gameObject in the scene
    - Select the VertExmotion object again.

    You can also choose a compatible shader in the material settings.
    Thank you for the feedback, I'll fix that bug asap! ;)

    Edit : found it, this is a regression from a previous version, the fix will be available soon.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2019
  2. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    I've submitted VertExmotion 1.8.7 to the assetstore, it should be available soon.
    It includes some scripts optimizations and the fix for the 'Fix material' button.

    Edit : VertExmotion 1.8.7 is available on the assetstore ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2019
  3. Augis1980

    Augis1980

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    hi, just got your plugin, trying to implement it into LWRP 6.92 workflow.
    image below.
    upload_2019-11-29_18-3-19.png

    Got some warnings:
    upload_2019-11-29_18-3-57.png

    And object with this material becomes invisible. Vertex Motion states that material is incorrect:
    upload_2019-11-29_18-5-14.png upload_2019-11-29_18-5-40.png

    Could you help me with solving this?
     
  4. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    Oops, I forgot to include the LWRP sample in the package... :confused:
    The current version includes only a HDRP version.

    You can fix it :
    - Open the subgraph and copy all the node in your shader.
    - remove the 'Substract' node and the camera position (this is only needed for HDRP)

    It should look like this :


    You can rename the shader path 'VertExmotion/ShaderGraph' and the material will be detected as compatible. You can also toggle 'Don't check shader compatibility'
     
  5. Augis1980

    Augis1980

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    That was fast! Thanks :)
     
  6. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2019
  7. Da-Luk

    Da-Luk

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Hi, i cannot get vertexmotion to work with my custom Amplify shader. Even with a simple ASE shader. I already connected the vertexmotion node to the local vertex offset and linked additional directives (Assets\VertExmotion\Shaders\VertExmotion.cginc) with relative vertex output. But if i try to fix the material via the button i got the following error:

    "Material use a non compatible shader (my_shader), please select a VertexMotion shader in your material properties or add VertExmotion function to your custom shader.
    UnityEngine.Debug:LogError(Object)"

    I also tried to ignore that, but in that case im not able to paint the weights to the mesh.

    Any ideas?
     
  8. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    Hello,
    the shader name should begin with 'VertExmotion/',
    if you don't want to rename the shader, you can toggle on 'don't check shader compatibility',
    the paint mode will be unlocked.
     
  9. xVergilx

    xVergilx

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Posts:
    2,598
    Does anyone had any issues with iOS's Metal with Vertexmotion/Standard shader?

    We've got a weird issue that causes models to be completely invisible.
    One of the models with VertExmotion is visible, another one is not. Both have same shader.

    This is on metal only. Older ios devices with OpenGLES (even 2.0) is completely fine.
     
  10. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    Could you try the latest version (1.8.8)?
    Does it work with another compatible shader?
     
  11. xVergilx

    xVergilx

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Posts:
    2,598
    No idea, just started build with a standard shader. If it will work with it, I'll try upgrading.

    Haven't tried with different Vertexmotion shader either.

    Forgot to mention, this is on v.1.8.5.
     
  12. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    What is your version of unity?
    There was a bug in Unity 2018.3.12 (or older) the VertExmotion DLL (Basic version) was not properly serialized with IL2CPP for iOS and the models were completly broken... It was fixed by unity in the version 2018.3.13f1.

    So maybe you could try with another version of unity.
    If you still have issues, please send me an email (contact@kalagaan.com), I'll help you to fix it.
     
    xVergilx likes this.
  13. xVergilx

    xVergilx

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Posts:
    2,598
    Unity's version is 2019.2.14, I don't think its the case, because first loaded model is visible.
     
  14. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    That's weird, could you send me a sample scene? I could have a look to the settings.
     
  15. xVergilx

    xVergilx

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Posts:
    2,598
    Yes, indeed its because of the VertExmotion/Standard. Setting shader to default (Unity's Standard one) makes model visible again.

    Why does only one model is displayed correctly, and the second one isn't?
    I'll try upgrading to 1.8.8 now, will see if it fixes the issue.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2019
  16. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    Does it work with another VertExmotion shader than the VertExmotion/Standard?
    The vertices out of the range of a sensor should not move, could you try to test without any sensors?
     
  17. xVergilx

    xVergilx

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Posts:
    2,598
    Seems like 1.8.8 is broken in different kind of way. Disabled sensors' verticies get stratched a lot.
    (Disabling is used to simulate sticking to the ground)

    upload_2019-12-9_17-23-36.png

    So 1.8.8 is a no go either.

    I'll try to build with a different shader instead or without sensors.
     
  18. xVergilx

    xVergilx

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Posts:
    2,598
    Setting other model to VertExmotion > Mobile > Diffuse fixed the issue.
    Had to add color to the shader, but its fine. No idea why Standard fails on the metal though.
     
  19. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    Did you update the standard shader from the addon folder?
    If you have upgraded the project the project from 2018 the shader could be too old.
    Is there some errors messages in the console if you try to reimport the shader?
    "Assets/VertExmotion/Shaders/VertExmotionStandard"
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2019
  20. xVergilx

    xVergilx

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Posts:
    2,598
    Nope.
    No errors on reimport.
     
  21. Player7

    Player7

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1,535
    Do you have a discord channel at all?
     
  22. CoyoteFringe

    CoyoteFringe

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Posts:
    21
    Aw, damn! I bought the DLL version right between the cyber sale and whatever's going on now! If. I'd. Just. Waited. 3. weeks. NOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooooo!!

    (haha - sorry, I had to vent and I don't have any RL people handy who would understand!)

    *cries into a beer*
     
    JBR-games likes this.
  23. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    When you buy the DLL version, you see the upgrade price for the Pro version :p
    There's no money loss if you buy the basic version before the pro ;)
    When there's a discount on the assetstore for the pro version, I decrease the price of the upgrade.
     
    CoyoteFringe likes this.
  24. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    The version 1.9.0 is now available :)
    - Improved paint tool : better accuracy, smooth mode, faster
    - UV paint tool : Now you can paint in the UV space, much more efficient for complex models.
    - New demo : droplet



    Don't forget to support my work with a vote or a review on the assetstore! :D
    It takes a few seconds and it's really important for the assets creators ;)
     
    hopeful and CoyoteFringe like this.
  25. CoyoteFringe

    CoyoteFringe

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Posts:
    21
    Oh, okay! How funny. I only noticed because I was browsing through my Wishlists (I plan to upgrade) and saw the price cut. It triggered an instantaneous "kick my own ass" moment. lol

    That's a very kind policy for a gem of an asset, BTW. I've got my eye on your Spiderweb Generator too, but...budgetary triage. (Ya'll know how it is)
     
    kalagaan likes this.
  26. CoyoteFringe

    CoyoteFringe

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Posts:
    21
    I'll type something up today. :)
     
    kalagaan likes this.
  27. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    Thank you so much for the review!!! :D
     
    CoyoteFringe likes this.
  28. DJWolf3

    DJWolf3

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hello & I Just Purchased Your Vertex Motion Asset from unity & am Trying to set it up for VRChat But un ity I cant even get it to work on a basic capsule like used in the documentation & so can you help me? Unity 2017.4.28F1
     
  29. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    Hello,
    Could you send me a sample scene ?
    my email : contact@kalagaan.com
    I could have a look to your settings.

    I don't know if VertExmotion is compatible with VRChat, because it requires custom scripts.
     
  30. jacasch

    jacasch

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    kalagaan likes this.
  31. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    Thank you for sharing!
    Didn't know that :p
     
  32. ghasedak3411

    ghasedak3411

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    22
    Hi ,

    Interactions on Sphere Very good job
    But on another mesh, it's not good

    Please help me, thank you
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.PNG
      1.PNG
      File size:
      137.6 KB
      Views:
      106
  33. ghasedak3411

    ghasedak3411

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    22
    My problem is visible in the image
    Does this solve with VertExmotion? 2.PNG
     
  34. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    Hello,
    It's difficult to understand your issue without the character's settings.
    Does the skirt is rigged too?

    You could try to add a sensor with an inflate factor inside the skirt, maybe a custom script should be needed for adjusting the sensor's parameters according to the animation.

    If you need more tips, please send me a sample scene (contact@kalagaan.com)
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2020
  35. ghasedak3411

    ghasedak3411

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    22




    This animation is not going to run and I don't need sand.
    I want to resize the skirt to my character size.
    I've been dealing with this for several months.
    I'll send you the scene.
    Thank you very much.
     
  36. ghasedak3411

    ghasedak3411

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    22
    I don't need Rig
     
  37. martinNista

    martinNista

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    For a few days now, I have been trying to find a solution to a problem but so far without any notable success. Vertexmotion seems simple enough. I choose a fitting (VM)shader, paint a few hair strands that I want to move, add a sensor and when I go into playmode everything works fine. But after building the game, suddenly the whole hair mesh moves instead during animations and not just the painted strands anymore. Unity 2019.2f3, HDRP project
     
  38. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    If it works in play mode, it should work in the build...
    I did some tests with Unity 2019.2 HDRP and it works as expected.

    What is your version of VertExmotion?
    Do you use a mesh reference (Paint tab)?
    What is the target platform? What is your shader ( a custom Shadergraph or VertExmotion HDRP lit) ?
    Could you try the same shader on a simple sphere in a new scene (or with a demo scene)?

    You could try to disable the mesh reference, or to save it again.
    If there's a problem with a specific 3D model, could you send me the fbx and a sample scene? (contact@kalagaan.com)
     
  39. martinNista

    martinNista

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    I use the current Vertexmotion version from the Unity store, so 1.9.1 with the VM HDRP lit shader.
    Target platform is standard windows build. I will send you a sample scene including test build and fbx file.
     
  40. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    It looks like it was an issue about the sensor's parent, it must be a bone of the animation skeleton when the renderer is a SkinnedMeshRenderer.
    I sent you a sample scene with another VertExmotion settings (using linked sensors), it works in the build ;)
     
  41. one_one

    one_one

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    571
    Any plans to move the sensor/CPU-side calculations to DOTS? From what I read in the topic, it seems that CPU is still the bottleneck and DOTS could really help there.
     
  42. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    VertExmotion CPU side is very fast and is independant of the mesh complexity. The main calculations are done by GPU in the vertex shader. So DOT won't help in that case. ;)
    There's no bottleneck with VertExmotion, even on high poly meshes.
     
  43. zhony

    zhony

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,
    I'm trying to use VertexMotion on a figure in a project with HDRP 7.1.8, and when I go into paint mode, I can't see what I'm painting. The whole texture appears blue, no matter if I paint or not.
    upload_2020-3-8_2-48-50.png

    If I select only one material and hide the others, they become pink, but the main one remains blue and I can't see any changes when I paint over it.

    upload_2020-3-8_2-51-13.png

    Any idea on how to sort this?
     
  44. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    Thank you for the feedback,
    The editor shader doesn't work properly with the latest HDRP version.
    I'll fix that issue as soon as possible ;)

    Please send me an email (contact@kalagaan.com) with your invoice number if you need a fix before the official release on the assetstore.
     
    zhony likes this.
  45. pblasters

    pblasters

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Any work on a URP compatible shader?
     
  46. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289
    The package includes a shader graph sample for HDRP and LWRP/URP ;)
     
  47. jeromeWork

    jeromeWork

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Posts:
    374
    Trying to get a short skirt to not go through the model's legs as it animates. I tried adding a collider with two zones but they don't seem to do anything. Am I missing something?

    What kind of settings would I need? I tried both 'No Backward Collision' on and off. but again no change.

     
  48. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,289

    The collision zone detects the others Unity colliders (sphere, capsules) and it apply an offset to the sensor, you should have a look to the collision demo.

    You have to add sensors arround the skirt with sensor colliders, and you'll have to attach some capsule colliders to the legs for interactions. Have a look to the dress demo, there's some linked sensors around the mesh, you could try to use the same kind of sensor's positions, and add a collision zone to the sensors at the bottom of the skirt.

    For your case, it could work better with a skinned mesh.
    You could also create a custom script for adding an offset vector to the sensors.

    If you still have issues, please send me a sample scene (contact@kalagaan.com), I'll have a look to your settings and scripts. ;)
     
  49. jeromeWork

    jeromeWork

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Posts:
    374
    Hi @kalagaan Thanks for the prompt reply. Very much appreciated.

    So yes, I'm using a skinnedMesh already. I've now added capsule colliders for the upperLegs, which makes sense. But I don't get why I need to add more sensors. I looked at the dress demo previously but it didn't make much sense. I've found the docs quite abstract and I don't fully understand, from what I've read, why there's a whole array of sensors on that dress. I thoughtI would just have to paint the verts (I'm actually importing a texture for that) and then enable collision:

    I'll shoot you a repo! (Maybe you might turn it into one of your videos :) I expect this is not something that unusual as a requirement)
     
    kalagaan likes this.
  50. jitterhorse

    jitterhorse

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Posts:
    9
    Is this still working? I am trying to add a collider via script. How do i do that?
    Thank you so much in advance!

    jitterhorse
     
unityunity