Search Unity

Question Vertex displacement as a "camera filter" (noob)

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by mannyhams, Sep 12, 2021.

1. mannyhams

mannyhams

I would like to apply a vertex displacement aesthetic to all rendered game objects relative to the camera (the animal crossing cam effect).

I haven't been able to find a really nice solution for this, but as the titles states I'm quite new to graphics programming. Advice?

Potential solutions I'm aware of:

1. Camera shader replacement
    This works but also blows away other custom shaders I'm using for various other things (e.g. water planes, terrain texture resolution which accounts for blending with adjacent terrain, etc).

2. Include vertex displacement logic in all the shaders
    I guess this works, and I guess I can use a custom cginclude for code reuse (I think? Not finding official documentation on this...). Perhaps this is the right way?

3. Displace the vertex data in on the CPU side
    I don't want to do this because it unnecessarily affects game logic to achieve a strictly aesthetic outcome.

4/5/6.. ???
    Probably there are many options I'm not able to see, and probably one of these is best :)

Thanks in advance for sharing your time and brainpower!

2. Invertex

Invertex

Option 2 is what you want. Yes you can put the vertex bend code into a CGINC file and reference that and just add the function to each shader's vertex program code.

Modifications you make in the vertex program of a shader, only exist during the call of that vert/frag pass. Any further shader passes will not see the modification, so you have to add that modification to all shaders.