Search Unity

Verifying a student project authenticity

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by marounaj, Feb 4, 2012.

1. marounaj

marounaj

Hello there. I'm a university instructor. One of the senior project students presented a unity 3d project. I would like to know if this is authentic work or it was copied as is. We're having hard time with students copying their projects and claiming it's their work.
    I only have some photos of the user interface. I was hoping somebody would recognize the game. I'm attaching them with this message.

2. ivanzu

ivanzu

Looks authentic to me.

3. doomprodigy

doomprodigy

Looks Authentic to me as well. I have not seen any unity project recently with that style gui. Though It might pay to flick through his programming and see if it is legitimately his and not a purchased FPS kit etc. You will know you student and his skill level of programming etc.

4. SevenBits

SevenBits

The trees and general terrain components (but from what I can tell, not the terrain itself) are from the Unity island demo. In the third screenshot, the words "Press Escape to Show Cursor" are present. This is present, in that exact font, in the Unity FPS tutorial. Also present in that screenshot are some barrels which are also from that tutorial.

In the first screenshot, you can see a recolored robot from that tutorial as well.

Everything else looks completely fine, but then again, if this kid sucks at programing and fails his assignments, then the red flags should go up.

If you have access to his project, you can post a web player, and I'll look at it further. Sometimes, general things like the "feel" of a game can indicate plagiarism.

Also, what level class is this boy taking? If an advanced level, that's on-par work based on that gun artwork, but it could've been purchased from elsewhere. Can't be the judge on coding just based on screenshots, though...

Last edited: Feb 5, 2012
  5. marounaj

marounaj