Search Unity

Vehicle Soccer AI

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by shahzaib, Nov 9, 2016.

1. shahzaib

shahzaib

Hi,

I'm new to Unity but this never seizes my enthusiasm for unity from going to places that I absolutely know nothing about. I've been working on Unity since last 4 (or 5) months, and feel pretty comfortable with Unity, however, I've just started taking vectors more seriously, even though they've always seemed too wild to be tamed.

Found this gif (above) somewhere on Reddit and I instantaneously fell in love with it. From last few days I'm trying to make similar behavior working but of no use. I'm trying vehicle prefab that comes with unity's standard assets, I'll be more than thankful if somebody could help me out on it.

Best regards.

2. absolute_disgrace

absolute_disgrace

From looking at the gif there are a two stages for the UI. Looks like there is behaviour for when the car is on the wrong side (Goal, AI, Ball, Home Goal). It looks like its placing a target at a diagonal distance away from the ball on the same side as the car. The distance from the red cube (the target) to the ball is proportional of the distance between the AI car and the ball.

Once the car is on the correct side of the ball (Goal, Ball, AI, Home Goal), the target switches to a target behind the ball in a line so that hitting the ball in the target line should knock the ball on a goal scoring line. As the ball moves, this target moves too so its always drawing a line toward the Goal. Similar to the first state, the distance between the target and ball seems proportional of the distance between the car and ball.

shahzaib likes this.
  3. shahzaib

shahzaib

So how can I get the target to always stay behind the ball and face the goal while staying proportional to the vehicle distance at the same time? Where to begin with?

Thanks elaborating, much appreciated.

4. absolute_disgrace

absolute_disgrace