Search Unity

Vehicle engine sound

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Deleted User, Mar 1, 2017.

1. Deleted User

Deleted User

Hi i'm making a car controller and I need help for the engine sound.
    The controller works well(nothing too complicated) and it has a gear system,RPM,torque based on the gear...
    I would like to have a realistic engine sound, but I'm not an expert in audio.
    I thought that simply taking an engine sound loop and changing the pitch would work, but it doesn't sound so good. So, my question is: there is another way to do it?

2. rakifsul

rakifsul

maybe add a ignition and stall engine sound. you can also play sound when the gear changes. ideally, the engine sound should be emitted when player throttles the engine in neutral gear.

different engine, different sound. if the engine uses turbo, there should be a turbo sound (like puffing sound).

you could check my thread for reference:
    https://forum.unity3d.com/threads/p...cs-and-ai-for-racing-and-combat-genre.459219/

3. CrashBang

CrashBang

I
    I'm working on this currently...generally these are my two approaches.
    1)Use a Rev'ing sound as a One-shot tied to acceleration (RPM) threshold. After the threshold is reached, trigger a high rev sound that is looped. The audio edit of the high rev engine must be seamless to sound good. After RPM reaches a low threshold trigger idle sound effect.

2) Connect pitch of the High Rev to RPM for engine accel / decel. After RPM reaches a low threshold trigger idle sound effect.

4. Todd-Wasson

Todd-Wasson

If you try to do this with only one sound sample then it's going to sound terrible because the rpm changes too much. You can alter the pitch of a given sample by some amount and it still sounds good, but beyond that it's bad. A sample recorded at 5,000 rpm will sound good at 4,000 rpm or 6,000 rpm, but not 1,000 rpm or 10,000 rpm.