Search Unity

Vapor: Volumetric Scattering [Open Source]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by pvloon, Oct 17, 2017.

  1. pvloon

    pvloon

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    591


    Last year I developed Vapor, a volumetric Fog system for Unity to add atmospheric lighting. It was developed originally for in-house use, then meant as an asset store asset, but ultimately shelved. That would have been a waste however, so now I have released it open source MIT!

    More information can be found on the GitHub

    Get Vapor on GitHub


    ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif

    If you have any issues or would like to contribute please raise github issues / pull requests!

    -Arthur
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2017
    Adam-Bailey, Alverik, Flurgle and 6 others like this.
  2. Alverik

    Alverik

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Posts:
    417
    Hi, I have errors in the Vapor Standard shader file in a project I'm working on:



    To be clear, I have been testing Vapor in a separate clean project and it's awesome, I love it, but as soon as I put it in the project I'm working on it started throwing these errors (and it looks weird in Playmode). I'm not sure why it's talking about duplicates... does Vapor clash with Alloy? (I do have just started using Alloy in that specific project). I'll try to test some later, but it's kinda late here right now.

    Anyway, any advice will be greatly appreciated, I'm really looking forward to using Vapor in my projects from now on (starting with this project).

    Edit: Ah, since you advice it on your post, I'll create an issue in github.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2017
  3. dan_wipf

    dan_wipf

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Posts:
    314
    05CD486B-4BF2-4B23-8FBC-728664EE64C6.png hey, i’ve got this issue on vapor with the standard shader(vapor), i’m on unity 2018.3.5f1

    what can i do, to solve this issue?
     
  4. dibdab

    dibdab

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Posts:
    976
    tried to use it in 5.6 and 2017.4

    not part of the C# 4.0 language specification
    vapor.jpg

    changed to 4.6
    Edit->Project Settings->Player->Other Settings->Configuration->Scripting Runtime Version

    but still these two remain
    vapor2.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2019
  5. dan_wipf

    dan_wipf

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Posts:
    314
    try to add using Linq; at the top..

    => operator is used fpr lambda expressions and requires linq
     
  6. dibdab

    dibdab

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Posts:
    976
    unfortunately didn't help [Vapor.cs, 2017.4]

    tried
    using Linq;
    and
    using System.Linq;
     
  7. dan_wipf

    dan_wipf

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Posts:
    314
    could not reposuce this issue.. on 2018.3 it’s working fine exept the shader where you need to change texcoord7 to texcoord8
     
  8. pvloon

    pvloon

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    591
    Are you on the latest Vapor version from the github @dibdab ? It was tested on 2018.4. Versions below that are not supported
     
  9. fabricadegame

    fabricadegame

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Tutorial import Vapor for uniyt?
     
  10. Cinabutts

    Cinabutts

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    this still a thing? can i add to a unity 2020.1+ project and have no major issues? Or as said above is the entire asset "shelved"? keep the community informed my guy
     
  11. pvloon

    pvloon

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    591
    Don't owe you my guy!

    I haven't tested it on 2020.1 - the asset is more or less shelved. I expect it to be reasonably on par with 2018.4 though.
     
  12. juneskiafc

    juneskiafc

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Just wondering, have you tested this on OpenGL ES 3.0? I'm on Unity 2018.4 and trying to get this to work with the Oculus Quest. It doesn't seem to work - when I build and run I just see a black screen.