Search Unity

  1. We want you to join us at GDC this year! Take a peek at all of the events we will be hosting during the week of GDC.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Tell us about your experience here and you’ll get early access to the 2018 Game Studios report + more goodies.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity 2017.3 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. We've closed the job boards. If you're looking for work, or looking to hire check out Unity Connect. You can see more information here.
    Dismiss Notice

[v3.0.1] Isometric 2.5D Toolset

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by blackmat, Jan 16, 2015.

  1. Shilo

    Shilo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Posts:
    17
    I'm interested in purchasing this asset. Any news on Tiled map editor support for the latest version? Is it possible to quickly and easily create a tilemap without Tiled support?
     
  2. blackmat

    blackmat

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Posts:
    183
    Hello. You can create tilemap with help another plugins and use it like one IsoOject in this plugin for isometric sorting.
     
    Shilo likes this.
  3. krishnaraj9

    krishnaraj9

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Hello @blackmat

    I recently bought Isometric 2.5D Plugin.

    I am working on an Endless runner type game for which I need to generate floor at run time.
    I am able to Instantiate IsoObjects but I feel its bad idea and affects performance. Instead I want to implement object pooling mechanism for it.

    I want some example or guidance for implementing pooling for IsoObjects
     
  4. blackmat

    blackmat

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Posts:
    183
    Hello krishnaraj9!

    Best way for floor is using one IsoObject and generate tilemap (as children sprites for example) for it without IsoObject for each tile because less IsoObject is better.

    If you will implement pool then do not forget to disable IsoObject in pool (disabled IsoObjects are not sorting)
     
    krishnaraj9 likes this.
  5. krishnaraj9

    krishnaraj9

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Hello @blackmat

    Thank you for your reply.

    In your examples for movement of ISO Object you used isoRigidbody.velocity = someValue
    where someValue.y = -speed; to move in Y direction and so on.

    I wanted to ask you whether there is any option to move an object using AddForce instead of changing velocity directly.

    The problem I am facing when I change velocity is that I find some jerks in background objects... they are not moving smoothly.
     
  6. blackmat

    blackmat

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Posts:
    183
    It's just example. You can move rigid body as you wish.
     
    krishnaraj9 likes this.
  7. Krumelur

    Krumelur

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Posts:
    6
    Hi! I made a small test with your toolkit and found a glitch I cannot explain. Some tiles in my (very basic) project flicker. I've recorded a video. You can see it here:


    If you have any ideas what could be causing this, I'd be happy to hear from you. I'll try to send you a private download link for the project so you can check it out.
     
  8. blackmat

    blackmat

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Posts:
    183
    I looked your example and saw two problems:
    1) Don't use IsoObject as parent for other IsoObject (Floor in your project). I'll add warning about this in the next version.
    2) Do not make any intersections between IsoObject (Floor and Tiles in your project). It's can be make some problems with sorting in the near feature.
     
  9. Krumelur

    Krumelur

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Posts:
    6
    1 -
    If I don't make "Floor" an IsoObject it cannot have an IsoBoxCollider which means my character will fall through the floor. What's the correct way of solving this?

    2 -
    What do you mean with "intersection"? My floor is a bunch of tiles/IsoObjects. I don't want to differentiate between tiles and floor objects.

    Are you saying that instead of having one big collider for the entire floor I should have one per floor tile?
     
  10. blackmat

    blackmat

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Posts:
    183
    1) Leave it as IsoObject but not parent for other IsoObjects in scene graph.

    > Are you saying that instead of having one big collider for the entire floor I should have one per floor tile?

    No, no, one big collider for floor it's good! But do not intersect different IsoObject bounds. You can make floor like 10x10x0 and put it on your tiles IsoObjects for example.
     
    Krumelur likes this.
  11. Krumelur

    Krumelur

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Posts:
    6
    Do you have a recommendation for setting the "Pixels per unit" property? When using real 2D sprites I would maybe say my main character is a human being 2m tall and its sprite has a height of 200. So setting this value to 100 would be a good ratio.

    But in isometric world the pixel sizes don't seem to quite work. Would I instead think in iso coordinates? As in: my 2m main character is 2 iso units tall, so I'd set the value to 1 instead?
     
  12. krishnaraj9

    krishnaraj9

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you for reply.
    But I see background objects are not moving smoothly.
    Is there any solution for it.
     
  13. Krumelur

    Krumelur

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Posts:
    6
    Hi!

    What exactly is the purpose of "IsoParent"? I understand it is used as the parent node for a collection of IsoNodes but what is it doing and why is it required?

    Thanks!
     
  14. blackmat

    blackmat

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Posts:
    183
    Just for easy moving IsoObjects groups :)
     
  15. Anemor2000

    Anemor2000

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Posts:
    33
    Hi there. Was wondering if you have a solution for this. The iso toolkit calculates depth only when isoboxes of each object collide. This is really annoying for us because we have sprites that are bigger then the isobox, therefore the depth on these objects is wrong as soon as the 2 iso box do not touch. We simply cannot have all our sprites fit their iso box for various reasons, is there any ways to deal with this? Perhaps something that calculates depths once then reorder upon collision?
     
  16. blackmat

    blackmat

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Posts:
    183
    Hello!
    Toolset can makes right sorting only by iso bounds. It means that all iso object should have correct iso bounds around them.
     
  17. lenneth78

    lenneth78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    101
    Hey @blackmat ,

    An update soon for fix warning in 2017.3 ?
     
  18. blackmat

    blackmat

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Posts:
    183
    Hi lenneth78! :) Already in asset store review. In a few days will be available for download.
     
    lenneth78 likes this.
  19. joeosborne8122

    joeosborne8122

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hello Blackmat,

    I purchased your asset yesterday but I dont think I have the adequate skillset necessary to use it, only new to unity and am not sure I will be needing your asset. What is your refund policy?
     
  20. blackmat

    blackmat

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Posts:
    183
    Hi! Write me personal message here or to support email with "order number"