Search Unity

Utilizing JSON for dialogue, can anyone help?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by FeldIV, May 5, 2020.

1. FeldIV

FeldIV

Hi all,

I'm still a relative beginner in Unity getting my feet wet, and I'm interested in learning how to code dialogue like you'd see in many games such as RPGs (or dialogue in narratively driven games in general, such as Deus Ex, etc).

I've been following a dialogue tutorial by Brackey and someone pointed out that a JSON setup is ideal as opposed to storing the dialogue on an object itself attached to a script. I've heard about this before, but I'm unsure how to do so; how do I utilize JSON for for the purposes of storing dialogue externally? Other than not using JSON, I rather like Brackey's setup, even better, is there a way to incorporate this within the framework that Brackey used?

Thanks all! For reference, here's the tutorial and affiliated code/scripts;

https://github.com/Brackeys/Dialogue-System

2. PraetorBlue

PraetorBlue

I think if you're a beginner, you should just go with what works easily and use the system in Brackeys' video if it's working for you. Don't fix what ain't broke.

If it starts becoming very difficult to manage the dialogue strings, then start thinking about ways to make that easier.

3. FeldIV

FeldIV

If it comes down to it, sure, but this is more of a learning experience than me deadset on wanting to make a game right now; if JSON is indeed the optimal way to do things (and it's looking to be so; in the future I definitely don't want to put an entire script for a medium or even smallish sized game on Objects) I'd rather start learning it sooner than later.

4. PraetorBlue

PraetorBlue