Search Unity

AI Utility AI Framework for the asset store

Discussion in 'Tools In Progress' started by Censureret, Mar 1, 2021.

1. Censureret

Censureret

I am relatively new to this "Asset store" creator thing, but I have decided to release the Utility AI framework I have created for our upcoming game, Divine Intervention.

About the algorithm:

Our Utility framework is heavily inspired by David Mark's IAUS (Infinite Axis Utility System). In short, we use basic math to determine the best action to take at a given time.

This gives us a responsive and fast way for the AI to decide what he/she is supposed to do.

In Unity, we use the built-in Animation Curves to make the so-called "Response Curves" these allow for fast edit and exciting ways of forming your AI.

To get more information on the algorithm, I refer to all of the videos where David Mark explains the theory behind it:

https://www.gdcvault.com/play/1021848/Building-a-Better-Centaur-AI
    https://www.gdcvault.com/play/1012410/Improving-AI-Decision-Modeling-Through

Utility AI as a concept is used in many types of games, such as The Sims, Guild Wars, etc.

Features

Not just for agents:

Utility Decision making is not just for agents but can be used in many scenarios such as:
    • Group control
    • Affection systems
    • Card game AI
    Basically, anything that needs a decision can be used with this framework.

Group AI feature:

The system is structured to use for Group AI (i.e., multiple agents working to solve tasks together). This way, you can do formations, attack orders, and more. The framework allows you to take the "Utility way" not just for agents but for anything in the world, making any decisions easy for any game object in your scene.

Intelligence System: