Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

UT Your bug feedback emails suck...

Discussion in '5.4 Beta' started by Arowx, May 13, 2016.

1. Arowx

Arowx

UT Your bug feedback emails suck and here's why...

I am an indie game developer and have at least 9 projects that I have used with various betas, over the past few months.

You send me a two paragraph email, with only a case reference, and basically a paragraph that says closing bug as cannot reproduce with current build.

Which is great if you have accidentally fixed the bug, a complete crash of the IDE.

But how the flip can I go back to the right project and test this myself, no links to the project files I uploaded or other pertinent information/data/links that allows me to quickly and easily re-download the uploaded project or find it's name and file location on my system (all information your uploader probably captures).

I get it you're working hard and probably struggling under load or crunch trying to get the numbers down before release. But if you system does not make it easy for us to help you make Unity better then...

MrEsquire likes this.
  2. movra

movra

I don't know if we should rely on Unity for project bookkeeping. Why don't you make a list that links the bug IDs to the path to the project or git branch in something like Evernote?

It's always a good idea to keep a journal about your projects anyway, especially when you are working on multiple projects at the same time.

3. Peter77

Peter77

QA Jesus

I create a zip file of every project I submit as bug-report. I keep the bug-report text as a txt file inside the Assets directory, so I know what error the project shows and how I can reproduce it when I get back to it a couple of weeks or months later.