Search Unity

usymtool is eating up all my RAM

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by roberto_sc, Mar 4, 2019.

  1. roberto_sc

    roberto_sc

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Posts:
    144
    Every time I run my game in the device through xcode, multiple usymtool processes (over 10) start, eating up all my RAM memory:

    Screen Shot 2019-03-05 at 10.09.42 AM.png

    I always have to kill the processes.
    I'm using xcode 9.2, Unity 2018.3.0f2 and macOS 10.12.6.

    What's usymtool and why does this happen?
     
  2. rhodnius

    rhodnius

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Posts:
    1,334
    Having exactly the same issue, anyone knows what this is?
     
  3. PureRockets

    PureRockets

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Can you try upgrading XCode?
     
  4. roberto_sc

    roberto_sc

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Posts:
    144
    I’d have to upgrade macOS and I think my Mac can’t handle it :(
     
  5. rhodnius

    rhodnius

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Posts:
    1,334
  6. Nevermore007

    Nevermore007

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    I have same issue, I am using xcode 10.2.1, mac os 10.14.5, unity 2019.1.14. Any solution for this?
     
  7. Numa

    Numa

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    100
    This is super annoying.
    Is anyone looking at this? Happening with Unity 2019.2.0f1.
    Any ideas besides killing all the processes? It also seem to not happen every time.

    Quickest way I've found is to just run `killall usymtool` in the terminal.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2019
  8. Domas_L

    Domas_L

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Posts:
    111
    Hello! Could you please submit a bug report with a minimal reproduction project for this issue and reply in here with the issue ID?
     
  9. Kjaka

    Kjaka

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Posts:
    18
    Having the same problem! Are there any solutions yet besides killall?
     
  10. nickfourtimes

    nickfourtimes

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Posts:
    219
    Also experiencing this for the past few days, and
    sudo purge
    doesn't seem to resolve it.
     
  11. nickfourtimes

    nickfourtimes

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Posts:
    219
    Well, I updated the tvOS version on the device, and the problem seems to have resolved itself. Either that, or it was a result of completely deleting the Xcode build folder that was output by Unity. Hoping I can replicate the fix using one of those two methods in the future, if it crops up again.
     
  12. nickfourtimes

    nickfourtimes

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Posts:
    219
    Yup, definitely seems like deleting the Xcode project folder contents does the trick.
     
    mentalup and Numa like this.
  13. OneGame-Studio

    OneGame-Studio

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    I have same issue in my Mac. It's really annoying! Please fix it soon. I use Unity 2018.4.9 and Xcode 10.3 on Mac Mojave 10.14.6. usymtool and lzma always eat all ram when I build app in Xcode
     
    thantieuhodo91 likes this.
  14. nickfourtimes

    nickfourtimes

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Posts:
    219
    For reference though, this does seem excessive...
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Numa

    Numa

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    100
    Seems to happen randomly too. Usually doing a "Replace" instead of "Append" on your next build will fix it temporarily
     
  16. OneGame-Studio

    OneGame-Studio

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    But that is really inconvenient when you always have to edit info.plist every time you build
     
  17. Numa

    Numa

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    100
    Oh I'm 100% with you this is really annoying and I hope it gets fixed sooner than later
    In the meantime, if you're changing your info.plist file a lot, you should have a look at the unity xcode api and post build processes, all the xcode settings are editable in code from inside Unity so you will never have to worry about this file again.
    https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/iOS.Xcode.PlistDocument.html
    There are some good examples on how to use this API to edit the plist file on these forums.
     
  18. nlabsoftdev04

    nlabsoftdev04

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    I have same issue.
    I use Unity3D 2019.2.6f1 and Xcode 11.0 on OS Mojave 10.14.6
    'usymtool' is always eat all ram when I build or archive app in Xcode and mac is no response.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Deng-Jia

    Deng-Jia

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    I have meet the same problem, at Unity 2018.4.9, Xcode 11.1 . on OS S Mojave 10.14.6, I found the problem is after append xcode project, In Xcode Build Phases add a lot Process symbols step. each time append one, and finnally eat up all my ram, by delete these steps and left only one fix it. and next time append project check if there is duplicate Process symbols step. seem like a bug
     

    Attached Files:

  20. bkachmar

    bkachmar

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    43
    This happened to me too and updating MacOS or xCode didn't work.
    However deleting the build folder and using Build instead of Build And Run helps.
     
  21. MassiveTchnologies

    MassiveTchnologies

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Posts:
    87
    We are having this issue too.
     
  22. nikescar

    nikescar

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Posts:
    165
    Deng-Jia is correct. For anyone still having this problem (I know I was on 2018.4.12), go to Build Phases in XCode and delete all of the Process Symbols phases EXCEPT FOR ONE
     
  23. psydent

    psydent

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    The question of what usymtool is still needs to be answered. I can't find anything about it in the documentation.
    Not running the script has no documented downside.
     
  24. nikescar

    nikescar

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Posts:
    165
    usymtool generates the project's symbol files

    "The symbol files contains debug symbols which are used to debug on specific processor and iOS version and when some crash or error occurs, those symbols are used to create crash reports."
     
  25. psydent

    psydent

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    Where does it say that? Xcode generates the dSYMs based on the generated IL2CPP. What does usymtool do? If it was generating project symbol files useful out of Unity Cloud then it should have clear output and not fail the build when connecting to Unity Cloud doesn't succeed (see link at bottom).

    Literally from https://www.tutorialspoint.com/what-is-processing-symbol-files-message-in-xcode where they are talking about iOS symbol files, not the project specific desymbolication files that you mention.

    If usymtool generates the project's symbol files, where are the generated files?

    I've also asked my question here https://forum.unity.com/threads/upl...stics-when-building-from-command-line.604780/
     
  26. nikescar

    nikescar

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Posts:
    165
    nickfourtimes likes this.
  27. chrisvasselli

    chrisvasselli

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    2
  28. Biggix

    Biggix

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    Thank you so much!!!
     
    nikescar likes this.
  29. thedrhax14

    thedrhax14

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Posts:
    38
    That works
     
  30. petey

    petey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,824
    Worked for me too thanks! Does anyone know if there's a way to automate this? I'm staying on 2018.LTS for my project and it would be nice to not have to worry about clearing this out all the time.
     
  31. leuconoe

    leuconoe

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    bump, Can i automate deleting duplicate tasks?
     
  32. Ecapyc

    Ecapyc

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Worked for me. Thank you!
     
  33. BillDNA

    BillDNA

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Thank you!!
     
  34. Chenfrank

    Chenfrank

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    I also want to know

    Does anyone know how to stop him from appearing?
     
  35. better_walk_away

    better_walk_away

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Posts:
    291
    I had just encounter this issue last night. I bought a new laptop with 64 GB ram, and after building Xcode project for several times, my ram ran out. Then I found that there were multiple "usymtool" in the memory, searching "usymtool" brought me to this thread. Unity fixed it in 2019.3, but didn't back-port it to 2018.4. I am using 2018.4.22f1 by the way.
     
  36. Rodolfo-Rubens

    Rodolfo-Rubens

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    1,197
    Hey guys, wth is this, this is taking 4gb ram, even after closing Unity Editor and Unity Hub it stays there!
    I'm on Windows btw, Unity version 2019.4.12f1.

    Edit: it vanished after a couple of minutes after I closed Editor/Hub.
     
  37. nikescar

    nikescar

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Posts:
    165
    I think the reason it stayed there after it was closed is because it hadn't finished uploading the symbols zip to Unity Cloud