Search Unity

using UnityEngine.PostProcessing - not found?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by 97CraigSanto, Dec 6, 2017.

  1. 97CraigSanto

    97CraigSanto

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Posts:
    24
    Hey everyone,

    I'm trying to do some basic post-processing manipulation in my code. To access any of these pieces, I know that I need to have "import UnityEngine.PostProcessing;" at the top of my script. However, this component is not being recognized (namespace doesn't exist error). I'm running on version 2017.2.0f3. What's the easiest way to try to reimport this piece?

    Thank you!
     
  2. Leuki

    Leuki

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Posts:
    130
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing;
    2.  
     
  3. Tactical_Beard

    Tactical_Beard

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    Put the script that accesses using UnityEngine.PostProcessing; inside of the PostProcessing folder. I guess will have to do that until PostProcessing is add to the UnityEngine dll.
     
    SureksuCTO likes this.
  4. GamerSuji

    GamerSuji

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Did you find a fix, struggling from the same problem
     
  5. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    21,203
    Second post answers it. For the record when you receive an error message like this you can just check the source files for the asset and the namespace will be near the top. Below is the namespace entry from a random source file on Github.

    https://github.com/Unity-Technologi...2/PostProcessing/Runtime/ParameterOverride.cs
    Code (csharp):
    1. namespace UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing
     
    Bunny83 and ClasicBeyter like this.
  6. goggler

    goggler

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Doesn't seem to work. I can find UnityEngine.Rendering but not UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing
     
    bjornsyse likes this.
  7. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    21,203
    Are you using the one available through the package manager (or Github)? Or from the Asset Store? Because the AS one is older and might have a different namespace. I can't remember now but if you're using the older one I can check it.
     
  8. Yearwood

    Yearwood

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    I'm having the same issue. Imported through the package manager.
     
  9. Digital-Wizards

    Digital-Wizards

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    same issue here, any solution?
     
  10. Digital-Wizards

    Digital-Wizards

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    I fixed this issue downloading Postprocessing stack from GitHub, and removed it from Unity Packages

    using UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing;
     
  11. NickTemple

    NickTemple

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    For anybody using custom Assembly Definitions, make sure you add a reference to "Unity.PostProcessing.Runtime" to your assembly definition.
     
  12. zombience

    zombience

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Posts:
    59
    This is the fix. I'm using asmdefs and forgot about linking alternate assemblies. Thank you.
     
  13. ASIM-SENYUVA

    ASIM-SENYUVA

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Posts:
    90
    same issue here, I install Postprocess and cinemachine from Package Manager but i can not access Post Profile over code. I try to add Assembly Definitions, but still not working
     
  14. ASIM-SENYUVA

    ASIM-SENYUVA

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Posts:
    90
    I remove it from Package Manager and install from GitHub. Its contains Assembly Referance and Its add to referance to our code. I can see referance over visual studio referance section but sill can not access. its very strange
     
  15. mansoor53

    mansoor53

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    The Way I found to Fix This Error is This:
    1.
    go to Window -> package manager
    2. select post-processing
    3. click on version and select old version
    4. click Up to date
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2020
  16. DragonInDungeon

    DragonInDungeon

    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    That's it!
    Thank you very much :D
     
    davidwhiffen likes this.
  17. PaulRdy

    PaulRdy

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    For me I had to add Unity.RenderPipelines.Core.Runtime to my assembly definition so I could reference UnityEngine.Rendering.

    This seems a bit wonky tbh.
     
    welmeapp likes this.
  18. unity_99228811

    unity_99228811

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I cant find one either
     
  19. rodrigozol

    rodrigozol

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    Same. I can't figure how to add references on custom Assembly Definitions. I don't know if its by Visual Studio or any Unity Menu. Tks

    upload_2022-6-15_14-44-52.png
     
  20. Bunny83

    Bunny83

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Posts:
    4,006
    Do you even use assembly definition files in Unity? If not, that's not something you should worry about. If you do, just select your assembly definition file inside Unity and check the inspector. If you don't know, look up what assembly definition files are to figure out if your project has some or not
     
  21. VitruvianStickFigure

    VitruvianStickFigure

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    38
    If you're attempting to use post-processing on a recent version of URP, I've found that I need to include `UnityEngine.Rendering.Universal`; then everything seems to be picked up without issue.
     
    Sinister-Design likes this.
  22. brad_werner_VB

    brad_werner_VB

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    This worked! Thank you for the helpful post!