Search Unity

Using Unity to Build a 3D Model Viewer

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by ashwinjaishanker, Jan 26, 2016.

1. ashwinjaishanker

ashwinjaishanker

Hello,

I'm just getting started with Unity and I thought it would be neat to build a simple FBX model viewer in Unity. All I really want to do is just load an FBX file at runtime, and be able to perform simple operations on it like rotation, panning, zooming etc.

I assumed this would be simple to do and I'd find a ton of tutorials explaining the same but obsessive googling has only yielded this:

I also found this thread on the Unity forum: http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/a-request-for-a-object-viewer-project.48060/

Unfortunately, both links above are 4-5 years old. Does anyone here know of any recent resources/sample projects/turorials that will give me a head start?

Thanks a lot for the help!

2. Schneider21

Schneider21

Welcome!

Did you try going through those guides anyway, despite their age? Regardless of any differences between versions, the concepts are still likely solid, and all that would really need done would be to update the code to fit the latest API, which can be handled with Googling on a case-by-case basis. It's rare that there are tutorials to cover exactly what you want to do in the latest piece of software, so you have to be able to adapt and learn from older content as it's available.

3. ashwinjaishanker

ashwinjaishanker

Yes, that's what I'm doing currently. Since there isn't a recent tutorial, I'll try to post one myself once I'm done with it.

Thanks for the reply!

4. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

You won't find a lot of tutorials because this is not simple to do. Unity's FBX importer serves the editor, not the runtime.

For runtime model loading, the easiest is to use OBJ, with something like ObjReader. (That's what we do for mod support in High Frontier.)

vinesnakes likes this.
  5. Honorsoft

Honorsoft