Search Unity

Using Unity for a non-IT company

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by macimusdev, Sep 4, 2019.

1. macimusdev

macimusdev

Hi!

I work as an IT support for a multinational company. The company doesn't create software or any IT related products, but my regional manager decided that we will use Unity for marketing purposes and he wants to use Unity personal.

Do we need to purchase Unity pro or is it allowed to use Unity personal for inside office development until it become public that the company use Unity?

Cheers,
    Maci

2. zombiegorilla

zombiegorilla

Kiwasi, Ryiah and Joe-Censored like this.
  3. AndersMalmgren

AndersMalmgren

You have any subsidiaries without revenue you can use?

4. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

The Unity license terms don't require the licensee to actually create products in order to enforce the revenue limits on the lower tier licenses. The license primarily governs the use of the editor itself. If the company will use the Unity editor and has total revenue at $200k+ then it is a violation of the license to even launch the editor prior to getting the proper license tier.

Kiwasi and Ryiah like this.
  5. RecursiveFrog

RecursiveFrog

Hmm,

Now I wonder about individual people who just have a compensation over 200k annually. Are they allowed to open the editor without a pro license?

6. zombiegorilla

zombiegorilla

Depends. The 200k mark is revenue, not income. If your salary from an unrelated job is over 200k, then no, you can use Unity personal. If you develop games for a company and are compensated 200k+, still no for your personal use. But obviously the company you are working for is required to have pro (assuming they use unity). If you are freelancer using unity and your income is above that then yes.

If you have a specific scenario that doesn't fit, contact Unity sales for specific information.

Kiwasi likes this.
  7. macimusdev

macimusdev

Thank you for your quick answers!