Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Using Unity 2019 LTS + Accelerator and switching platforms still takes more than an hour...

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by BrainSlugs83, Sep 24, 2020.

  1. BrainSlugs83

    BrainSlugs83

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    Hi,

    I'm using Unity 2019.4.9 (LTS) and 2019.4.10 (LTS) and switching between project targets takes an hour or more in my game. (e.g. switching between Windows and Android -- or even just changing Android from GLES 2 to GLES 3).

    I installed Unity Accelerator (and configured it, and verified that it is working) -- but it's not speeding anything up. -- It still takes more than an hour to switch.

    I believe this is a bug, and it affects a lot of folks. -- Switching between various platforms to make a small tweak to your app can cost you an entire day right now. -- Please fix this.

    (Wishlist: honestly, it shouldn't even need a cache server, just make a separate folder for each platform that I've converted to, and store the converted versions of the assets there the first time -- don't sit there and redo the conversion / recopy files every single time I switchI! -- Disk space is cheap, but Time is money!)
     
  2. BrainSlugs83

    BrainSlugs83

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    FYI, the reason why I tagged this as a bug is that this behavior is the opposite of how internal Unity folks are saying it should work -- including a PM from EMEA region and a technical evangelist from EMEA. -- Here: https://blogs.unity3d.com/2019/09/11/speed-up-your-team-with-the-unity-accelerator/#comment-417972

    I'm tempted to switch to pipeline v1 to see if it works any better, per Ciro's comment. ☹

    The WORST part about all of this is that some settings also trigger a reimport (e.g. switching from Linear to Gamma or GLES2 to GLES3) -- and for some platforms I have to change more than one of those settings -- which means, it has to reimport *EVERYTHING* *MULTIPLE* times when I switch between certain platforms.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2020
  3. BrainSlugs83

    BrainSlugs83

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    Also indicative of a bug.

    upload_2020-9-23_18-57-41.png


    Meanwhile Unity prefs say everything is fine -- but it's clearly not actually using it (and yes, I've switched to all of my targeted platforms a few times now):
    upload_2020-9-23_18-54-28.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2020
  4. BrainSlugs83

    BrainSlugs83

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    Another feature request (unless it's also a bug): Why the heck does changing the color space (Gamma to Linear, etc.) or the rendering mode (GLES2 to GLES3) cause the AUDIO files to be reimported. -- Like there's no possible way that color space could (legitimately) impact the audio files, right? -- So, maybe don't reimport them when that setting changes...
     
unityunity