Search Unity

Using TimeLine for Audio Beats

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by Sangemdoko, Sep 22, 2019.

1. Sangemdoko

Sangemdoko

Hi,

I am new to using the TimeLine feature in Unity. I was hoping I could use it to Create tracks for a very simple rhythm game.
    In the editor I want to have my signals/markers on the beats but in game I want the audio to be delayed by x seconds so that I can use the signals/markers to spawn objects that will arrive at a certain position after x seconds (exactly on the beat)

What's the best way to do this? Should I create a class that extends Playable Director (although it's not a monobehavior so it would be a bit of a pain) or TimeLineAsset?

If I understand correctly I need to have some customized code at the moment the PlayableAsset is instantiated in the scene by the playable director or when the playable graph is being set?

Or maybe the better idea is to create my own AudioClip track that has a parameter for audio delay only in play mode?

I mean the easiest thing I could do is have two audio track with one that's shifted and muted in editor... but that's not really nice plus if I have mutliple audioclips with blends I would need to have the exact same ones on the other track.

I'm looking forward to your insights.

2. Sangemdoko

Sangemdoko

Ah I forgot something that's unrelated to the first question but is there a way to add the custom markers in a submenu?
    I just want to organize my markers in sections like the signal Emitter. If there is a way to hide some of them that would also be great, as I can create them directly from an editor script
    upload_2019-9-22_11-54-11.png

3. Sangemdoko

Sangemdoko

Right now My approach is to delay the audio tracks before the timeLine is played

So turns out you can't really duplicate a TimeLineAsset at run time because it references other assets.
    So what I do is that I delay all the audio tracks on awake, then I rebuild the playable graph and play the director