Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Using sprites-diffuse material breaks batching

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Etabubu, Jun 27, 2014.

1. Etabubu

Etabubu

Hi,

I'm a noob, so this might be totally my fault. I searched a lot on the interwebs for a solution, but I didn't find anything.
    I'm using Unity Pro 4.5.0f6.
    I'm working on a 2D game and I created a simple scene with 20 or so sprites.
    They're all flagged as "static" and they are packed in the same atlas using Sprite Packer.

Initially I was using the Sprites-Default material for all of them and the whole scene was being drawn in just 2 draw calls (and about 15 calls saved by batching).
    Then I decided to add a point light and I created a new material that is using the Sprites-Diffuse shader.
    I assigned the new material to all the sprites in the scene.
    That's the only thing I did and now the batching is broken: 34 draw calls, saved by batching 0.

I did all kind of tests, repacked the atlas, recreated the material... but nothing. If I simply select the Sprites-Default shader the batching is completely restored.

So... is this a bug? Is it by design? Do I have to forget about using the sprites-diffuse shader with batching?

Thank you!

2. 8bitCartridge

8bitCartridge

I got the same problem, sprite diffuse material gives me extra 50 draw calls and saved by batching drops to 0.
    Did you find a solution for this?

3. lorenalexm

lorenalexm

This is not a problem with the sprite diffuse shader - it is functioning 100% as intended.