Search Unity

Using Realsoft 3D with Unity?

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by jashan, Mar 11, 2007.

1. jashan

jashan

Hi there,

I'm still completely new to Unity and don't even have a Mac, yet (but this is probably coming soon ;-) ). Since I've been using Realsoft 3D since the Amiga days (when it was still called Real 3D), and it is also a software with a really nice community, I was wondering if anybody using Unity3D knows this tool?

They've moved to Windows quite a while ago, reworked everything and now have a beta for Mac OS, too. I think it's a really powerful modeller, also with a nice GUI (by now ;-) ), and nice renderer. It seems to be somewhat left behind when it comes to game development, though... which is why I'm mentioning it here (I wouldn't be surprised if Realsoft 3D and Unity 3D became really good friends one day ;-) ).

Kind regards,
    Jashan

PS: The URL would be http://www.realsoft.com/

2. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

I've taken a look at RealSoft before, but never tried it.

Have you tried running RealSoft under "Parallels Desktop" or "VMware Fusion"? If you're getting a new Intel Mac Mini, then it may be worth a try. I'm running more than 50% of all my PC CAD and graphics apps on my iMac without any problems using Parallels.

The big obstacle I see with using it with Unity is that (and correct me if I'm wrong) RealSoft appears to be largely a Nurbs based app and the only formats that (after conversion) you'll be able to use are .3DS and VRML. Neither of these are very good for game development IMHO and will need to be converted something Unity uses like .OBJ or .FBX.

3. jashan

jashan

Since there's a native Mac OS X version of Realsoft 3D now, I guess the ideal would be directly using that version (it's still beta, though... not sure how well it works).