Search Unity

Using Raycasting to open doors

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by loafsick, Oct 9, 2019.

1. loafsick

loafsick

Hi Everybody!

So, I'm a little confused about a basic concept here. I've watched numerous tutorials about opening doors (or just playing animation clips) using raycast, but most of them are javascript, and that doesn't seem to be supported any longer. I am new to C#, and have little to no understanding of JS, so I need a C# solution. I have my reticule already in my UI, and it'll just stay on screen, always. The raycast is emanating from the camera on my FPS (and the script is attached to the camera). I have box colliders on each door. I have the "door" tag applied to each door. Basically, when the door to be opened is in range of the raycast, and I click "w", the door open animation will play, and when it is out of range, the door will close (I don't know how to write this part). I know that this script is incomplete and there is an error regarding the 'input.getkeydown' line (although that works in other scripts, for some reason). Can somebody lead me out of the wilderness?

Thanks in advance,

Stephen

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    5. public class RaycastShootALT : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.     public Vector3 point = new Vector3(0.5f, 0.5f, 0);
    9.     Camera cam;
    11.     // Start is called before the first frame update
    12.     void Start()
    13.     {
    15.         cam = GetComponent<Camera>();
    16.     }
    18.     // Update is called once per frame
    19.     void Update()
    20.     {
    22.         Ray ray = cam.ScreenPointToRay(new Vector3(0.5f, 0.5f, 0));
    23.         RaycastHit hit;
    24.         if (Physics.Raycast(ray, out hit))
    25.             if (hit.transform.gameObject.tag == "Door")
    26.                 if (Input.GetKeydown("w"))
    28.                 {