Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Question "Using more than 1 pixel lights on a mobile device may decrease performance"

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by yyylny, Dec 18, 2020.

  1. yyylny

    yyylny

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Posts:
    93
    I'm developing a URP project for mobile and I keep getting this warning message every time I build it:
    I don't see anything related to pixel lights in the Quality settings menu. Any idea why I get this warning?
     
    makaka-org likes this.
  2. BrandyStarbrite

    BrandyStarbrite

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Posts:
    2,076
    Click directly on one of the names, and see if more options pop up.
     
  3. bgolus

    bgolus

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Posts:
    12,397
    The warning is a little misleading when using the URP. It's technically correct, but the "setting" you're looking for is set in the URP asset that's assigned at the top of the Quality settings menu.
    upload_2020-12-18_13-32-52.png

    Find the pipeline asset(s) in your project view.
    upload_2020-12-18_13-33-7.png

    Then change the Additional Lights' "Per Object Limit" setting.
    upload_2020-12-18_13-33-50.png
     
    yyylny likes this.
  4. yyylny

    yyylny

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Posts:
    93
    Thanks, bgolus! That's what I thought but since "Additional Lights" is disabled in my project I wasn't sure. I even tried setting "Per Object Limit" to 0 and disabling "Additional Lights" but I still get that warning. Either it's a bug or there's another setting that triggers the warning message.
     
  5. bgolus

    bgolus

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Posts:
    12,397
    Then it's probably a bug and really is complaining about the per pixel lights setting that's hidden and not being used.
     
    yyylny likes this.
  6. yyylny

    yyylny

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Posts:
    93
    Yes, looks like a bug. It seems to always happen when I change the quality settings to "High", regardless of the actual lighting settings. I reported it to Unity.
     
  7. BrandyStarbrite

    BrandyStarbrite

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Posts:
    2,076
    Yeah, apparently that problem existed in older versions of unity, since 2011. It's most likely a bug.
     
    yyylny likes this.
  8. yyylny

    yyylny

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Posts:
    93