Search Unity

Using Headset and Controller positions as variables

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by Senseweeks, Jan 13, 2022.

1. Senseweeks

Senseweeks

I am doing a project that requires me to find the centroid of the triangle created from the headset and controllers every frame then draw a line between the centroids over time. To do this I need to get the position in the Y and X directions of the headset and both controllers. I have tried my best and looked around the internet but haven't managed it in the slightest. This is my first time using unity and I'm on a time crunch because the deadline is approaching. Please help this noob out! I'm using the quest 2 and the included controllers I have both the oculus and XR integrations installed (the latest version for both) and I have Unity 2020.3.25f1.

EDIT: Specifically I need help either using the position values in an equation and printing the result to a file.

Last edited: Jan 13, 2022
  2. MelvMay

MelvMay

Unity Technologies

FYI: There's a dedicated set of sub-forums for AR/VR/XR here I'll move your post.

3. kyle_v

kyle_v

Unity Technologies

Hi I can try to help,
    If you already have a basic VR scene working with headset and controllers moving around, you can check their position values by adding a script like this to your project, adding it onto any GameObject and then in the Inspector assign references to the head, handR, and handL GameObject fields.

Code (CSharp):
    2. public class MyScriptName : MonoBehaviour
    3. {
    5. public GameObject head;
    6. public GameObject handR;
    7. public GameObject handL;
    9. void Update()
    10. {
    11. var headPosition = head.transform.position;
    12. var handRPosition = handR.transform.position;
    13. var handLPosition = handL.transform.position;
    15. }
    17. }
    the position will be of type Vector3 in world space, and you can then do the centroid calculation using headPosition.x , headPosition.y etc..