Search Unity

Discussion Using DOTS ECS in robotic arm simulator

Discussion in 'Physics for ECS' started by Envilon, Dec 19, 2022.

1. Envilon

Envilon

Hello everyone!

I hope I'm not too daring in making this post and not many of you will get angry at me. The reason for creating this discussion is that I am in a bit of a pickle with a research topic for my master's thesis. I recently encountered some limitations with Unity API and the regular physics, and using DOTS seems like the only way forward with the project. Unfortunately, I am not very experienced with DOTS, and some things have changed since I last used it, and I am running out of time to finalize my thesis assignment. So I'm hoping to get some more information that would help me steer clear of some future problems that I would burn a lot of time figuring out later on. I don't have high hopes that people will swarm this thread to help me, I'm just putting it out there just in case some people were solving similar problems in their project or they know exactly what resources will give me the most helpful information.

The goal of this discussion
    I want to tell you more about the project and my expectations of using DOTS. Hopefully, some more experienced users from the community will be able to catch some red flags immediately or tell me that it is not even possible with the current state of DOTS. Perhaps someone else worked on something similar and would be able to explain what to be careful about and direct me to some relevant resources and demos. Any ideas or guidance will be very appreciated. :)

About the project
    I am working on a robotic arms simulator/visualization in Unity that has these features:
    • allows users to import their robotic arms using the URDF Importer;
    • supports integration with ROS (because it is the standard and most users will probably use the simulator that way);