Search Unity

Using Destroy on GameObject components not working?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by mdallicardillo, Apr 8, 2021.

1. mdallicardillo

mdallicardillo

Hello all, thanks for taking a look at this. This is my first attempt at game development so pardon my lack of knowledge.

Does anyone have any idea why the following code is doing nothing?

player is a reference to the main player script, and animationManager, collisionManager, etc are references to monobehaviour component scripts on the player GameObject, stored in the main player script.

Code (CSharp):
    1.         public override void UnSocket( PlayerMain player )
    2.         {
    3.             Destroy( player.animationManager );
    4.             Destroy( player.collisionManager );
    5.             Destroy( player.inputManager );
    6.             Destroy( player.movementController );
    7.         }
    I read that using Destroy() on a game objects component would remove the component, but running this code does nothing. After I attempt to remove these components I add new ones using AddComponent, which works fine, but the ones I attempted to Destroy are also still there.

Thanks in advance, hopefully someone has some insight!

2. PraetorBlue

PraetorBlue

Destroy works fine. Are you sure you have references to the correct components? Are you maybe referencing components on a prefab for example?

Also note that Destroy does not finish destroying the object until the end of the frame, so you will still see those components for the remainder of the current frame.

Joe-Censored likes this.
  3. mdallicardillo

mdallicardillo