Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Using A Second Cam While Still Rendering The Vr Camera For The Vr Headset

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by TrackLabs, Apr 10, 2019.

1. TrackLabs

TrackLabs

Hey,

I am not sure if I`m in the correct Section since the Topic was more (XR) focused.

I am completely new to VR Unity, but what I am trying to do is (probably) pretty simple.

I want to render the VR Camera so the person on the headset still sees everything normal, and at the same time render a second camera that can look at the VR Player from an outside view.

Here a short video for example:

https://i.gyazo.com/96cafa3bab90d3955a477993d7312e5d.mp4

What you see on the Video is the Rendering for the Game on a Screen, so what People see if they watch someone playing VR. At the same time, the VR Player sees his own Perspective tho. He does not see the exact same thing everyone else does. So there are 2 Cameras rendering. 1 the VR Camera, 2 the other Camera for Spectators.

How do I achieve this? Because I want to set a Camera at some location so that I can show this camera rendering on Screen, while I still see everything normal in VR.
    Putting a second Camera will break the VR Camera.

Context:

I am using an HTC Vive (And that's the only VR Headset I need it for. The project is just

2. StayTalm_Unity

StayTalm_Unity

Unity Technologies

Gabyalf, Alex-CG, satchell and 2 others like this.
  3. TrackLabs

TrackLabs

Sadly your Blog and Source Project is for the Oculus. I am using the Vive..so Importing and using your Program wont work for me.