Search Unity

User Reports - No stacktrace for exceptions

Discussion in 'Unity Cloud Diagnostics' started by geff, Nov 26, 2018.

  1. geff

    geff

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Posts:
    28
    Hello,

    I just implemented User Report in my project.
    I noticed that exceptions (even all events) do not have an embeded StackTrace.

    This can be problematic to fully understand the origin of a problem.

    I tried to force the sending of exceptions like this:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. Application.logMessageReceivedThreaded + = (logString, stackTrace, logType) =>
    3. {
    4.     if (logType == LogType.Exception)
    5.     {
    6.         UnityUserReporting.CurrentClient.LogEvent (UserReportEventLevel.Error, $ "{logString} \ r {stackTrace}");
    7.     }
    8. };
    But the result is not very readable. All the stracktrace is on one line.

    I also tried using:

    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. Unity.Cloud.UserReporting.Plugin.UnityUserReporting.CurrentClient.LogException (exception);
    3.  
    But this cause 3 problems as you cans see in the screenshot:

    * It is not always possible to retrieve the exceptions
    * It double the entries for this exception
    * Content is completely empty in the web interface

    upload_2018-11-26_17-48-0.png


    Other question, I tried to install Bug Reporter from Package Manager as mentioned in the documentation :

    https://unitytech.github.io/clouddiagnostics/UnityCloudDiagnosticsSettingUp.html

    But I can't see the User Reporting package.
    I'm working with Unity 2018.2.15f1.

    Thanks.
    #geff
     

    Attached Files:

  2. bretth_unity

    bretth_unity

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Posts:
    38
    Thanks for the feedback. Currently, exception information is not displayed on the dashboard. We're looking into how to display this information.

    The exception data is contained in the report if you download it.

    Regarding the installation of User Reporting via the package manager, you must select "Show preview packages" under "Advanced". After installing the package manager package, you must go to the "Window" menu, select "User Reporting", and then click "Import Packages". This will import the same package from the SDK.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2018
  3. nehvaleem

    nehvaleem

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    Is there any progress with that? It seems that almost 4 years have passed and there are no stacktraces in the user reports still.
     
  4. ValeryNikulina

    ValeryNikulina

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2020
    Posts:
    138
    Hi,

    I'm afraid this is still not available. I'll speak to the dev team when this will be available and will update the thread here.