Search Unity

Use unity for a game between papers, please and football manager

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Abelabumba, Jan 14, 2015.

1. Abelabumba

Abelabumba

Hi there.

I have a game almost completely planned for quite some time but no programming experience, I'm currently looking into engines to make it become reality, looking for all help / hints / tips I can get.

I'm a complete beginner but I'm going to take this very seriously, I'm taking a break from my business to concentrate on this full time (which is a childhood dream of mine). The game would be best described as as a game between papers, please and football manager, so there will be a main calender running with random / fixed events happening every x days. It would be more involved than PP, more stats and different things to do, but way less than a football manager game (which actually simulates each football game, gives detailed stats on shots missed etc - no need for this, let's say it's a horse racing manager and all I simulate are horse races with some simple stats like speed, endurance. Not really simulating AI / other "teams" either.).

The game would basically consist of about 10 different screens, similar to a football manager where you have one screen for building up your stadium, one for hiring new players, one for after match stats and so on. Another big part would be dynamic events in a CYOA style (like for example europa universalis or crusader kings use), think of "Your horse is naughty. Do you want to train it with love (click here, x happens) or send it to the glue factory (click here, y happens)?".

Graphically unity3d would be overkill thus, I don't even need any animation. There would be a lot happening under the hood but nothing so complex it couldn't be resolved with pen, paper and a lot of dice throws. Reasons I'm even thinking about unity are:

• I haven't found anything that would be much better suited, either