Search Unity

Use Unity 2019 without Unity Hub

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by mnarimani, Apr 21, 2019.

  1. mnarimani

    mnarimani

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Posts:
    211
    I think Unity Hub is useless.
    Who installs a separate software only to load projects? I mean, it's ridiculous!

    Using Unity Hub must be optional. For someone like me who only uses one Unity version at a time, Going through Unity Hub doesn't do me any favor.
     
    EvOne, afshinunity, DanT6 and 5 others like this.
  2. hansmbakker

    hansmbakker

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Cross-quote from different topic:
     
    Circool likes this.
  3. Ethan_VisualVocal

    Ethan_VisualVocal

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    132
    It IS completely optional. You can find the direct download links here, by clicking the drop-down for your OS platform: https://unity3d.com/get-unity/download/archive

    The problem is they completely hide the direct download links from the primary update page. I personally feel that using Hub is a better experience for most users, but I don't think tricking people into thinking it's the only option is great.

    Going through the Hub is still useful for:
    • Launching projects directly into a specific Target Platform instead of the previous. (Devs targeting multiple platforms do this a lot.)
    • Installing upgrades without having to dig around on the website.
    • Managing installed components without having to dig up the original installer file.

    At the rate Unity publishes updates -- at least SIX in a month, excluding any betas -- managing this through 3rd party stores is a waste of resources for an inferior result, in my opinion. You have no control over the turnaround from submission to published and full availability. If Unity released updates like, once every month or two, this option would make a lot more sense.

    This, I agree 100% with. Half of the things I use Unity Hub for (project & target platform switching) feel like they could be natively implemented in the Unity Editor instead. Visual Studio (Windows) is a great example of how to do this right. (I find it maddening that I can't launch the Unity Editor without a project chosen/being-loaded.)

    If they did that, then all I would continue to use Hub for is managing the 3 different installs I'm constantly updating and jumping between.

    The only upside to Hub providing this functionality is it lets them iterate on the Hub feature-set independently of Unity releases, without having to use Unity's unpleasant IMGUI APIs, and lets them provide new functionality to the older LTS releases.
     
    EvanSandbakken likes this.
  4. MostHated

    MostHated

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Posts:
    805
    The less time developers have to spend trying to independently manage version, releasing updates, posting them to the site, dealing with posts like this, the more time they can dedicate to the things that actually matter, such as working on the engine.

    That being said, I think the hub is great. Instead of having to go to the site, look for the downloads area, find the version I want, download it, install it, I only have to click on it in the hub and hit install, to download and install it within a matter of 2-3 minutes and I am ready to go along with the different platform extensions for each one, and (previously but hopefully again) adding assets to my new projects before I even get them opened so I can skip having to fight with the slow store.
     
  5. Jargs

    Jargs

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    That's a website UX failure. There's no reason to "fix" an unusable website by requiring everyone to download an entirely separate hub app.

    I have no problems with the hub existing. I'm sure it's extremely helpful for a lot of developers, but for the rest of us, it would be really simple to provide an easy to find download link for the stanalone installer as an optional alternative.
     
  6. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    225
    Rather than pushing for some Hub features to be in the editor, I think the answer is to make the Hub actually do useful things. @Jargs the UX failure is with more than just the website.

    Why can’t Unity move the asset store from the editor to the hub, make it an asset browser, move these forums and Unity Community stuff there (and improve these dramatically). In other words, I’m spending too much time going from an asset’s web forum, to the asset’s Unity forum, to the asset’s Discord - simply because none of these have satisfactory functionality. So what I would like is an actual HUB, managed by Unity, and which addresses some of the massive UX problems with our current setup. There is so much that could be done with the Hub!
     
    EvOne and Ethan_VisualVocal like this.
  7. Nicate

    Nicate

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    You also need Unity Hub to create new projects. 2019 can do it on its own, but the result is very subpar. It creates a pre-5.0 project without any installation options, and names it "New Unity Project".

    Looks like you also need it to use the Asset Store from inside the editor, although not for free assets it seems.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2019
    EvOne likes this.
  8. ptcmia

    ptcmia

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Posts:
    83
    I downloaded Unity from the archive but when you launch the program it says you need Unity Hub to authenticate. I cant use Unity Hub because of all the firewalls at work. How do I get around this? I am using the free version of Unity.
     
    EvOne likes this.
  9. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    4,267
    Talk to the IT department.
     
  10. Nicate

    Nicate

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    Does Unity still provide the option to not log in when starting the application? You used to be able to skip that step.
     
  11. WarpZone

    WarpZone

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    319
    You can avoid logging in, but if you're not logged in, you can't download assets.

    2019's purpose is to force the Hub on users.
     
  12. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    342
    Hi everyone!

    Thank you for voicing your concerns. We try to accommodate most people's workflows without being in your way (too much).
    That said we are not going back to the classic launcher within Unity. We are trying to move as much code away from the Editor that isn't directly related to producing content with the engine. That way, when a new Unity version comes out, you don't need to re-download the same project/user/license management code all the time.
    Right now Unity can still be completely installed and opened by itself, but know that we are slowly moving away from this as the Hub matures. It doesn't mean your user experience needs to be bad though. As @transat mentioned, please help us make the Hub a better application by giving feedback and letting us know what bothers you or what you would like to change. We try to be as receptive as possible to the community so don't hesitate to report issues or post in the forums!

    I hope to hear from all of you and I'll be happy to respond to any questions, comments or concerns.

    Best,
     
    joeksy and ashleysimpson like this.
  13. asgarcia

    asgarcia

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Abraham,
    I cannot install a unity version through the Unity Hub, on my work network or my home network. It simply sits forever and does nothing. I am trying to fix the minimum api level in the player settings, it is blank and cannot be changed and somehow reverts to level 16 when trying to build. I had none of these issues until Unity Hub. We have projects we are working on and are stuck.
     
  14. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    342
    @asgarcia,
    If the Hub is preventing you from working on a project I suggest you quit the Hub from the Tray and simply use Unity by itself. Once you're ready to try using it again, backup/rename your "C:\Program Files\Unity" folder (if that's where you installed Unity before) and try installing Unity through the Hub again. The Hub needs to access this folder to install Editors and it may be one of the causes for your current issues.

    If you are still experiencing issues then, please submit a bug through the Hub's Bug Reporter ("Report a Bug" option in the tray menu) and we'll have a look at your logs and investigate your download/install problem more closely.

    Cheers,
     
  15. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    14,385
    You can download and install everything you need without using Unity Hub. Just open the release notes appropriate to your project, download them, and install them. Once they're installed you can just point Unity Hub at the folder where everything is installed.

    https://unity3d.com/unity/whats-new/
     
    AbrahamDUnity likes this.