Search Unity

Question URP shadard surface shader best approximation

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by dejce18, Jul 18, 2022.

1. dejce18

dejce18

Hi everybody,

I'm quite new to this shader thing in unity so I have a question about it :). So, I'm following Sebastian Lague's tutorial about procedural mesh generation and he's used a standard surface shader but the thing is, that this type of shader is not supported in URP. What is the best approximation to a standard surface shader (I hope it's not a shader graph because I do not like that thing)? Is there any way to make the standard surface shader work and not show pink mesh ?

Btw is there any way to define arrays in shader graphs blackboard?

Thanks for your help

2. bgolus

bgolus

The URP's default Lit Shader.

No.

3. dejce18

dejce18

Is there any workaround to this? Or better say, is there any way to use a color array or float array in the shader graph? If there is what is the best practice?

4. bgolus

bgolus

Unity doesn't support material properties that are arrays for Shader Graph or otherwise. However you can still pass arrays to shaders. For hand written shaders this is as straightforward as adding an array uniform to the shader code. But for Shader Graph the only way to do it would be to use a custom function that uses a separate .hlsl file.*

https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/com.unity.shadergraph@11.0/manual/Custom-Function-Node.html

Code (csharp):
    1. #ifndef MYSHADER_CUSTOM_ARRAY
    2. #define MYSHADER_CUSTOM_ARRAY
    4. float _MyFloats[];
    6. void GetMyFloatValue_float(int index, out float value)
    7. {
    8.   return _MyFloats[index];
    9. }
    11. float4 _MyColors[];
    13. void GetMyColorValue_float(int index, out float4 value)
    14. {
    15.   return _MyColors[index];
    16. }
    18. #endif MYSHADER_CUSTOM_ARRAY
    To assign the values to the array, you'll need to use a c# script.
    https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Material.SetFloatArray.html