Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

URP Point Light Shadows

Discussion in 'Universal Render Pipeline' started by abi17124, May 3, 2020.

1. abi17124

abi17124

Hey all!
    I just switched to URP today and converted all my materials, I previously had a bunch of point lights and they all casted shadows, however after switching to URP it seems that all the shadows are now gone and can't get them back.

I'm pretty new to unity and I'm not very sure about whats going on, how can I get the shadows to render again?

2. Mauri

Mauri

3. abi17124

abi17124

Ah bummer, is there any way to get shadows for point lights on URP then? I don't need it to be real time.

4. RoughSpaghetti3211

RoughSpaghetti3211

5. phil_lira

phil_lira

Unity Technologies

syscrusher, Bezoro, protopop and 2 others like this.
  6. zackblack

zackblack

@phil_lira can we PLEASE get this prioritized? We've been waiting for full URP support for our upcoming VR game for literally years now. It relies heavily on realtime point lights for the atmospheric sci-fi environments and trying to fake it with spotlights and baked shadows looks awful. It's the most upvoted feature according to the roadmap: lighting1.PNG lighting2.PNG URP Roadmap.PNG

7. Lars-Steenhoff

Lars-Steenhoff

I'm pretty sure when its stated to come out soon its already top priority.

8. nasos_333

nasos_333

URP should have never actually released without core features like this, is it really puzzling

9. thelebaron

thelebaron

lclemens and DaneGillburry like this.
  10. nasos_333

nasos_333

Seems could be never, if was easy would have been done over the weekend. Probably the new pipeline platforms are extremely hard to use and extend, as adapting an already existing code for shadows should be trivial.

I suppose will have to make it ourselves.

11. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape