Search Unity

Question URP on Mobile incredibly slow?

Discussion in 'Universal Render Pipeline' started by ShadyMike, Jan 2, 2022.

1. ShadyMike

ShadyMike

Hi,

I've never tried making a mobile game before. However, I noticed that I get really bad FPS even with just simple scenes. I have 3 animated skinned meshes, and 2 point lights (no shadow casting) on screen, and the FPS caps at 26. Profiler says that the CPU is waiting for GPU gfx to finish.

So I wonder, why is the performance so bad? I can think of a few possibilities, but I don't know:
    1. URP is not ready for mobile, maybe Standard is faster?
    2. Maybe a Development Build is slower than a non-Development Build?
    I'd appreciate any help as this is quite frustrating, I can't imagine mobile devices to be that slow.

Thanks in advance!

2. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

Check the profiler.

3. bart_the_13th

bart_the_13th

He already did I think

The problem with URP if you make it from template is that it turns all effects ON in the first place. This could be problem if you are targeting mobile platform since not all device has the power required to run those post processing

Try turning PostProcessing off would be a good start to bump the framerate

And yes, from what I've tested on my mobile device, standard/built in pipeline is faster than URP

AshwinTheGammer likes this.
  4. Neto_Kokku

Neto_Kokku

URP does some things by default which you would otherwise need to enable or implement via a package/asset, which can hit mobile GPUs much harder:

- HDR rendering (built-in defaults to LDR) is really intensive on low end mobile GPUs.
    - Post processing (built-in has none, you need a package/plugin) needs the framebuffer to be copied out from tile memory to device memory, which is the death sentence for low end mobile GPUs which barely have bandwidth to fill every pixel on the screen.