Search Unity

Question URP Lit Shader in Shader Graph

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by jp_xsi4life, Sep 2, 2020.

1. jp_xsi4life

jp_xsi4life

Is there a way of starting with the URP LIT shader and extending it with Shader Graph? Or do I need to rebuild the entire LIT shader graph and add my extra features to it?

chuckyluv869 likes this.
  2. jp_xsi4life

jp_xsi4life

Found a version of the HDRP Lit Shader Graph if anyone finds that useful:
    https://github.com/RemyUnity/SG-HDRP-Lit

It would be great if there was a standard example graph included in URP and HDRP for the main coded shaders.

chuckyluv869 likes this.
  3. Armegalo

Armegalo

I too am looking for a shader graph version of the URP Lit shader. I'm relatively new to shaders so wanted to start there as an example for learning. My own efforts are sadly lacking :(

4. JordanRy

JordanRy

Did any of you have success?

5. Sinterklaas

Sinterklaas

Old post, but since it's been bumped recently:

Unity actually wrote a blogpost that tells you how to do lighting in URP:
    https://blog.unity.com/technology/custom-lighting-in-shader-graph-expanding-your-graphs-in-2019

The shader graph interface in their pictures is a little bit different from current Unity versions, since the post is from 2019, but it still works. However, make sure that your shader is set to either Unlit or SpriteUnlit, or else you'll get lighting twice.

If you also want your objects to cast shadows, make sure to instead set your shader to Lit, and to pipe your lit color into the Emission port of the output node so that you don't get lighting twice. I don't know if custom shadow receiving works in Unlit/SpriteUnlit shaders, but it definitely works with the Lit method. But only if your shader's surface is set to "Opaque" or you have "Transparent Receive Shadows" enabled in your Forward Renderer Data asset.