Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Help Wanted URGENT "Unity is already in list. You cannot locate the same version"

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by AnimationSB, Mar 17, 2021.

  1. AnimationSB

    AnimationSB

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2021
    Posts:
    21
    I was going to start working on my project, which I have been working on for the past week.

    After opening UnityHub, I clicked on the project as usual. Normally it would automatically load Unity and my scene

    Right now it is crashing and giving me this error (that appears for a split second, I had to time my screenshot)

    I can not get to work on my project. Very urgent. Any help or suggestions would be very much appreciated.

    upload_2021-3-17_17-4-15.png

    I came upon a workaround online, about resetting the internet, I tried this but it did not fix it.

    there are some varying that involve things like deleting files and changing router access. Because of work-from-home scenario, I can not easily do trial and error with these with our tech support. If one of these is a sure-fix, we can coordinate to try.
     
  2. vendaar

    vendaar

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Look into your "installs" in unity hub.
    Try removing the specified Unity Version from the hub (dont uninstall!), and then add it again via "locate" button.
     
  3. AnimationSB

    AnimationSB

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2021
    Posts:
    21
    there is no remove option. Only add module, show in explorer and uninstall
    upload_2021-3-18_7-12-35.png

    do we know what causes this? I have read many different opinions on it.

    I also hate doing kitchenwork in production (trial and error fixing w/out knowing the problem and having a proper solution)

    yesterday, I tried creating a new project in another location. Worked. Created a new empty one. I can't remember what I randomly tried next, I think I tried to open scene the project I was working on just to see if it worked. I think one of the things I tried got it working

    This morning, I tried the same, getting this error again

    I am 2 weeks newbie into Unity so I don't want to be too negative and pessimistic so soon, but this is quite frustrating
     
  4. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    10,012
    @AnimationSB It looks like you are storing your project at a server share location? Have you considering mapping the share to a drive letter, and/or testing on a local project? You might need to authenticate to the share first before using it in Unity.
     
    stain2319 and Joe-Censored like this.
  5. AnimationSB

    AnimationSB

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2021
    Posts:
    21
    Hi.. thanks.

    I forgot I posted about this in the forums. Unity Customer Service Team Link actually also contacted me via email. We were troubleshooting it and I ended up finding the solution thru trial and error

    Yes, the issue seemed to be the server path. Mapping a network drive solved it.
     
unityunity