Search Unity

Uploading large file issue - from Rhino to Unity

Discussion in 'VR' started by Dasf1, Dec 17, 2018.

1. Dasf1

Dasf1

Hello there,
    I'm trying to import a structure created through Rhino and saved in OBJ to Unit but so far I' having big problems. The file is about 1.2 GB (saved as small in OBJ) and Unity takes a very long time importing it and sometimes crashes or does not respond anymore...
    The only way that worked till now was when I added textures to the Rhino file on KeyShot, saved it as fbx and then Unity was able to open it (still i could not see the textures, there was only the shape of the file...)

I am completely new in this field so I dont know if I'm doing things in the best way, would you then have suggestions to help me?
    I would need in the end to be able to walk a bit in front of the structure with VR to visualize it in real size...

Best Bahnhof3.10.jpg

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

First, your model is probably way too "heavy" (i.e. too many polygons) for a realtime game. I see a lot of latticework on the pavilion behind the building — if all that is done with mesh geometry (rather than transparent textures), I shudder to think how many polygons that must be!

If this is the situation you're in, I suggest backing up, and reading/watching a few tutorials on how to design and model for realtime games.

Next, FBX is the most standard format for 3D models in Unity. I'd probably stick to that if I were you. Sometimes the materials are not found/applied properly; this can usually be fixed with careful tweaking of the import settings, but you can also go through and attach them manually after import. A model like the above should have only a handful of materials: one for all the transparent bits (such as the latticework in the pavilion), one for the building, one for the pavilion floor, maybe one more for the windows. If you have a lot more materials than that, see comments above. :)

3. Dasf1

Dasf1