Search Unity

Question Upgraded hardware, performance is worse...

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Innovine, Jun 29, 2022.

1. Innovine

Innovine

Can anyone help me understand where the bottleneck in performance is? I just upgraded my CPU from a i7-6000k to a Ryzen 7 5800x, and the graphics card from a gtx1070 to a rtx3080.
    In most cases, the performance is the same, or simply worse.

Here are a few screenshots from my game running in the editor, with the game window maximized:
    stats.png
    Previously I had 80-90fps, often more.

Screenshot 2022-06-29 170454.png

Windows shows that my GPU isn't even at 20%. It's fans are not even running. Is this suggesting a CPU bottleneck? Read on!
    The CPU doesn't really go over 20%. I have 8 cores, how many does Unity use?

Screenshot 2022-06-29 170554.png

I am not an expert on the profiler, but this looks normal?

Screenshot 2022-06-29 170622.png

Is my game actually doing anything at all?

To be honest, after upgrading the hardware I expected to see much higher frame rates, but its simply MEH, and sometimes worse than previous. I don't see anything here that explains why its not running way faster... do I have the handbrake on somewhere? Regular games are showing a massive improvement. It's just Unity which isnt doing anything.

Attached Files:

2. CodeSmile

CodeSmile

CPU load is 13 ms that's pretty high. Assuming you did not write any multithreaded code your game seems CPU bound on a single thread. And single thread performance of CPUs in the past 10 years has barely increased. At the same time the single thread performance of Intel chips used-to-be better so the jump from a not-too-old Intel to a modern Ryzen may not be as huge as you'd expect - single-threading wise.