Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We've updated our Terms of Service. Please read our blog post from Unity CTO and Co-Founder Joachim Ante here
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Upgrade to Hub 0.17 removes UnityHub.exe

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by nickfourtimes, May 23, 2018.

  1. nickfourtimes

    nickfourtimes

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Posts:
    100
    Heya, just updated to Unity Hub 0.17 this morning; at the end of the upgrade/installation, I got an error saying something along the lines of not knowing how to launch the hub. The shortcut to Hub in my Start menu is broken, and when I look in C:\Program Files\Unity Hub\, I can see that UnityHub.exe is no longer present. I'll just re-download and re-install the Hub, but let me know if there's anything I can send along in the meantime.
     
  2. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    115
    Hello!

    Sorry to hear you had a confusing experience updating to 0.17. Could you send me your hub logs through direct message? They can be found in the path below.

    %UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming\UnityHub\logs

    This issue doesn't sound like anything I've seen in the past. Perhaps the logs will help understand the issue. Let us know if this happens again.

    Cheers,
     
  3. nickfourtimes

    nickfourtimes

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Posts:
    100
    This happened again with the update to 0.17.1 this morning.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. yamlCase

    yamlCase

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    34
    I get the same issue
     
    nickfourtimes likes this.
  5. JasonBricco

    JasonBricco

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Posts:
    918
    This happens to me as well. And it has happened for several versions now.
     
  6. Stamos

    Stamos

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Updating to 0.18 does this as well.
     
  7. cassandraL

    cassandraL

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Posts:
    47
    Hello all,
    we have released a new version of the Hub.
    Let's hope it will work. Otherwise, we also tried to capture more debug information in the logs.
    Therefore, if you encounter the issue again, please send me your hub logs through direct message.

    %UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming\UnityHub\logs

    Cheers
     
  8. yamlCase

    yamlCase

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    34
    I get the same issue with the latest version as of today. I sent you my logs in a conversation.