Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Question Updated Localization to 1.3.2; Old Localization Settings don't work

Discussion in 'Localization Tools' started by spwgd, Mar 8, 2023.

  1. spwgd

    spwgd

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Is there a way to bring back my old Localization Settings so that they are compatible with Localization 1.3.2? I don't remember which version of Localization the settings were made with, but I think I used 1.0.5.

     
  2. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,570
    They should work. Selecting the asset should also give you the option to make it the active settings.
    Did you change anything else in the project?
    If you create a new settings file does it work?
     
  3. spwgd

    spwgd

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Looks like I solved the problem. I deleted the Library folder from my project and Localization 1.3.2 can now read my old Localization Settings just fine. The Library folder was automatically re-created without causing any noticeable issues. Thanks anyway.

    Not much was changed before I updated Localization. I updated Unity to 2022.2.9f1 from 2021.3.20f1 and updated one package (I don't remember what it was). Neither had an effect on Localization reading my old settings file. After updating Localization, new settings files can be made and read. I can't say the same about my old settings file. In Project Settings > Localization > Active Settings, the list of compatible assets when clicking on that circle only included the new settings file and not the old one.
     
    karl_jones likes this.